We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Sandfield Farm, Chester CH24JR, England
+44 1244 303100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chester Fields is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 392 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lovely setting, complimented by great, knowledgeable service and regular good offers. Steak night is great value with stunning steaks and the 2013 offer is also one not to miss!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We strongly believe that well thought out Offers that give our customers genuine value are incredibly important and we have to say, Steak Night is one of our favorites! Glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    123
    88
    30
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could be excellent....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have eaten here a number of times since it opened and find that it can vary between each visit. These have been just 2 person visits to group visits. Generally the food is of a good standard but on the last few visits the restaurant has been noticeably under staffed to the point where plates were left on the table and I had to go and find a waiter to order the next course.That said it has been generally ok and it is a great venue with a great atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful. If they could sort out some very minor issues I think it would be excellent and would look forward to returning. Lets hope....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello there and thank you for writing this thorough review for us. We find the negatives as helpful and constructive as the positives and agree that we didn’t always get our staffing levels quite right due to the dreaded nuro virus (!) throughout January… very pleased that everyone is now back to work and in fine form!
We will continue to work on this and very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“One of Chester's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a superb lunch special with my partner & for an absolute steal at £20.13 for the 2 of us! Every dish was fresh, well presented, hot & very tasty. The place itself is tastefully furnished , clean & staff most welcoming. I've heard reviews saying the wine is expensive, large glass of extremely quoffable sauv blanc was £5.50 which i think is a bargain. Paid more for cheap plonk in a seedy pub.

Well done Chester fields, a very good well oiled machine & can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
A well oiled machine! That is a compliment indeed Sir and thank you very much for writing such a nice review of your experience. We really enjoy serving our guests with the special £20.13 menu. Its great value as you say and we can keep it seasonal by working closely with our fabulous local producers and suppliers. And glad that you enjoyed a nice glass of sauv blanc to wash it down with!
Thanks again Mr Lobster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here for an unplanned night out with a friend. Place is lovely, nicely decorated with a good atmosphere. Food was lovely - was tempted by a pudding - sticky toffee pudding with cream - gorgeous!!!! Came away very full indeed! Will definitely go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Sarah and thanks for writing this review and we have to agree with you, the sticky toffee pudding is a firm favorite with everyone!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back… thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to the chester fields as part of family celebration. As always food and service fantastic. Children well catered for and the area upstairs an added bonus. Would highly recommend this restaurant. We will be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello bajbm and thanks for writing such a great review for us.
And really pleased that you have complimented us on how well we cater for children, we created upstairs as a family area, so its good to hear that it works well. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Fields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.