We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service-no wait.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Rouge

Barton Rouge
150-158 Telegraph Road | Telegraph Road, Chester CH60 0AH, England
01513457373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and service-no wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Dropped in by recommendation of our hotel staff - no booking but busy Friday and took immediate table for 2 - no problems -great menu - plenty of choice food and drink- well served and tasty,hot food -mains and sides excellent .
Overall, a great night out - busy restaurant and clearly popular - plenty of noise inside and atmosphere all good .
Would visit again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    87
    52
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still my favourite restaurant in Chester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

To be fair i hadn't visited in a while as iv been travelling, but every time im back the only place the family seem to want to go is here. When i visited last my mother had told me that her friend was told by another waiter at one of the other restaurants that Barton Rouge was a one star restaurant. But after checking for myself i realised that this was nothing but a scare mongering tactic, because their rating clearly states they have been given 4 stars. I cant help but think there are a lot of people out there who are facing competition from these guys and are trying everything to give this place a bad name. Im just relieved this rumour isn't true because finding another half decent indian in Chester is next to impossible. Keep up the good work guys although iv been told your service levels could do with a bit of brushing up your still my favourite indian.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad attitude and lack of customer care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have visited Barton Rouge Chester for the third and final time and will never go back. lack of customer service and care is appalling. very slow service which being in the place for an hour and a half and only had poppadums then to get stone cold food one dish which was meant to be sizzling was rubbish, this is the second time we have walked out of the place due to long waits and no apolgogy is !!!! eight people had a good night out till we set foot in that place NEVER AGAIN. go to Hoole Indian well recommended great food and service they need to take a lesson from them. do not go to Barton Rouge if you are hungry or want your night ruined.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food. Pushy service .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

3 rd visit. Lost any atmosphere now just as many tables squeezed in as possible . Staff trying to rush us all the time , food was v good starter platter for 2 good for 4. Mains good . Cobra beer good. Toilets filthy ( have been 3 visits ) 1 urinal and 2 toilets for a big restaurant . No towels and hand driers broken. Recommend you take wellingtons and do not touch the door handle , ordered taxis and waiter got it all wrong. Will not return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Rushed service at one point the waiter clicked his fingers to pass the finished starter. Never again better places in chester one to avoid !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton Rouge also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Barton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.