We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something For Everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandstone Trail

Sandstone Trail
Chester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 96 things to do in Chester
Attraction details
cheshire
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The Sandstone Trail around Beeston has a lot of Circular walks of varying degrees of difficulty. Its worth buying a book (search for Sandstone Trail on one of the book websites). The all round views are spectacular on a clear day and there are 2 or 3 decent hostelries to base from and enjoy some refreshment after a good day out

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Truly Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

For my review I am concentrating on just one section of the trail which is Frodsham Hill (sometimes known as Overton Hill).
This section is simply beautiful giving stunning views of the River Mersey Estuary, Liverpool and the Wirral Peninsula.
Tip 1: Drive up Frodsham Hill by following the road from Frodsham Station (just off the High Street) and follow the signs to to the Best Western Hotel - Forest Hills Hotel.
Tip 2: You are allowed to use and park in the extra large hotel car park for FREE.
Tip 3: Just follow the path from the hotel to the War Memorial on the edge of the sandstone cliff for a truly exceptional and rewarding view ........ believe me its worth the visit for this view alone even if you don't go off walking elsewhere.
Tip 4: Choose a blue sky day to get the best out of this..
Then finish off by discovering a tea shop in Frodsham Village .........

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you enjoy walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

i have walked climbed some of the sandstone trail with my dog. I loved the Beautiful views.and of course fresh air and not forgetting the great exercise.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Book in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Lovely country pub/restaurant with views over Cheshire plains. Great place for meal any time of week but need to book at weekends. All food home prepared and well worth the value, lovely bar staff who made us feel very welcome after a long walk along the sandstone path.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We came here today with the dog for a bit of a mooch and dog walk. The views from the top of frodsham hill were excellent and well worth the decent. We parked up at the free car park on Simons lane in frodsham, climbed to the top of the hill before heading back as it was getting dark early (with it being January). Can't wait to explore it further. Great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandstone Trail also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sandstone Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandstone Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.