We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the trail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandstone Trail

Sandstone Trail
Chester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Crewe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love the trail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Have done the sandstone trail a couple of times, over 2 - 3 days camping along the way, plenty of campsites to stay at whilst enjoying the walk. Camp at either Kelsall or Bickerton Poacher.
Great thing is there is a train station at either end, Frodsham or Whitchurch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

this is reasonably well sign posted, basically across the cheshire plains with a few outcrops of rock to cross over. Much better walking over the border in N. Wales

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A worthy challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We aimed to complete the 34 miles in one day. Setting off around 5am on a lovely day, our efforts to get up were rewarded by some lovely scenery, excellent views and some interesting wildlife.
Our halfway stop was the Pheasant at Burwardsley at 11 am. Not bad, 17 miles in 6 hours, we thought we'd be in Whitchurch in another 6 hours.
Unfortunately, one past Maiden Castle, the walk is a flat field run where we relied on good signage to get us through various pastures, bogs and herds. Tiredness and a lack of easily visible signs meant that we were cream crackered by the time we reached he canal. A very boring stretch of canal walking lay ahead and rather blunted the edge of what had started as a very picturesque journey.
We made it in a day and we had the blisters to prove it.
Overall an achievement but I'd recommend stopping the walk at Willeymoor Lock or Grindley Brook to cut out the tedium of walking down a canal path.

We did it in May 2013 contrary to the visit button information. Limited options there TA.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple Pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The Sandstone trail is a long walk but really worth it. You can break it up a bit but we always try to go as far as we can, arranging to meet friends at the Sandstone pub afterwards. The views are amazing and you really work up that appetite for a good meal!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“What a mix of scenery. Amazing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Had planned to try and do all 34 miles of this in one day. We'd already done a long distance one of 29 miles so we knew it was possible. Sadly, an injured leg meant we called time on it after around 20 miles and (lucky, lucky, lucky) ended up at a superb pub in Burwardsley. From start to finish, the scenery was great and ever changing. From sandstone cliffs to woodland paths to vast forest trails and open fields to walking through the middle of a towering maize field to watching people navigate and canal lock and finally, two castles. Cracking day and made perfect by the weather. Heading back there soon to do the other 14 miles just to say we've done it all.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandstone Trail also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sandstone Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandstone Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.