We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice food,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Cathedral

Chester Cathedral
12 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England
01244 324756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value, nice food,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Second visit to the Refectory for a bite to eat. Recommend the soup - hearty and warming on a chilly day and is good value for money. Its a nice place to go for lunch its always busy but with lots of tables you don't have to wait too long. Staff friendly. Toilet facilities not very clean and in need of updating.

Agree with Lorraine B with her comments on the cathedral being free. We paid on our last visit and noticed the sign outside stating FREE entrance. Wanted to pop in and light a candle but noticed they were then asking for £3 donation which made me feel pressured into paying so didn't bother which is sad in a way when you think its a place of worship. Liverpool Anglican do not charge entrance but do have a donation box.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    297
    82
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Free?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A notice outside tells us it's free to look around inside the cathedral - with a suggested donation of £3 per person being requested. There are people on tills taking your money and issuing tickets/receipts. THIS DOES NOT MAKE IT FREE! We would have been more than happy to place a 'free will' offering in a donation box, but strongly object to being told how much our donation should be but in the same breath tell us it's free. We should not be expected to pay to enter a place of worship

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelliekay
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Must Visit place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Lovely Cathedral decorated with 40 Christmas trees sponsored by local firms, schools etc. Staff very friendly. good gift shop and café did lovely lunches.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice, but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Although very impressive from the outside, we were less impressed with the interior compared with other cathedrals in the UK. Has a couple of nice stained glass windows. We only had a quick visit, as there we hundreds of school children arriving for a carol service. The cloisters, were decorated with locally sponsored Christmas trees, which were lovely. Has a lovely cafe, and well stocked gift shop. Free to get in, but please leave small donation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caersws, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Carol Service not quite what I expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I attended expecting to sing popular Christmas carols but I knew none of those that were sung - well maybe one vaguely.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Cathedral also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.