We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see however expensive to go in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Cathedral

Chester Cathedral
12 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England
01244 324756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great to see however expensive to go in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The cathedral is beautiful and in the middle of the city. The imposing structure is, however, very expensive to get into. The 'suggested' donation was rather heavily encouraged when we visited!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    299
    82
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Beautiful place. We didn't go in though as wanted to do more shopping of course ;) But from the outside it just takes your breath away.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Really looking forward to visiting the Cathedral, didn't expect to have to pay to get in, would be very willing to leave donation if we had gone in!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Was blown away by how wonderful this place is. We were so impressed my husband and I went back again two days later to revisit. The history of this place is amazing. I reccommend getting the audio tourguide which is part of the price of entering.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Historical sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Cathedral is a must especially if one can hear the choir singing

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Cathedral also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.