We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Upton-by-Chester, Chester CH2 1LH, England
01244 380 280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Attractions in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chester Zoo is the UK’s number one charity zoo, with over 11,000 animals and 400 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.4 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round full day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visit here often and there is always something new to see. This time there were lots of babies. The painted dogs were very playful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,254
    825
    224
    83
    46
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chester Zoo just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have been to chester zoo and the variety of animals there is great and the bars and cafes and the service is just brilliant. a great family day out for all young and old.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It had been many years since I'd been to a zoo & sure how many animals we would see in January. I was very pleasantly surprised by the range of animals, how active they were & the enclosures they live in. The monkeys, gibbons, oranutans & chimps are fabulous, so too are the elephants. Chester zoo has wide variety of animals all within extensive grounds with plenty of areas to eat, drink & picnic.
We didn't see it all, I will Definately be making a return visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Came to Chester zoo years ago and enjoyed it so I was happy to return. The zoo is excellently laid out over a vast area.
We were lucky enough to get a good view of the elephants as they came out, the tigers with there cubs playing and the cheetahs sitting on a log. There is a walkway throughout most of the zoo to take you over the animal pens and the array of animals is incredible.
Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Most amazing zoo!! EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I love love love this place would go everyday if I could! We arrived just on opening time and you get to watch them let out the elephants except the naughty baby one that decide not to go out haha. The whole zoo is just in too condition all the animals are perfectly looked after all looking so happy! Can't wait to go back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.