We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Upton-by-Chester, Chester CH2 1LH, England
01244 380 280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chester Zoo is the UK’s number one charity zoo, with over 11,000 animals and 400 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.4 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round full day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have visited Chester Zoo on a number of occasions with family and friends. You will never get bored! As it is basically built on level ground it is very accessible for people with walking difficulties or in wheelchairs. Equally it is great for families with young children. It is very clean inside and there is a choice of eating and refreshment areas. There is a vast array of animals at the zoo who appear to be very well cared for. It is quite expensive but well worth it if you take your time and enjoy the full spectacle on offer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,598
    938
    255
    92
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a great place to take the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Always works a treat with the family, nothing really to complain about other than the entrance fee but i suppose the place would run for free

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best zoo in Britain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I, together with our children, have visited a number of zoos around the country but without a doubt this is the best of the lot. It is quite clear that a great deal of care has been taken in the layout of the zoo, and the animals look healthy and happy in their spacious enclosures. Our personal favourites are the tigers,elephants and orang-utans, but all the many species are fascinating to look at and there is always something interesting to grab the eye.
Yes it is a bit pricey for the family but we consider it is money well spent and have returned two or three times.
The cafes and toilet facilities are excellent and there is plenty of room in the car parks.
One visit may not be enough to see all the animals so we would recommend return visits!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Day with Discounts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Five of us took a day off work last Friday and went to Chester Zoo! It was cold but worth it! The weather was great and most of the animals were out and about =) I looked everywhere for discount but had no luck. Until I came across this post on a forum. Cheshire Oaks's information centre sells discounted entry for the Zoo; £14.50 instead of £18 and it comes with fast track entry! It was a worth while 10 mins detour!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Big place ,great fun, bit pricey for family, need to visit many times to get around this place we have been three times now and still haven,t got around it all train not always running in the grounds with small child she got very tried food and shop pricey but still had great day looking at all the animals ,staff not chatty no talking sad

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.