We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A full , fun packed day .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Upton-by-Chester, Chester CH2 1LH, England
01244 380 280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chester Zoo is the UK’s number one charity zoo, with over 11,000 animals and 400 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.4 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round full day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A full , fun packed day .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great day out for all ages . In beautiful surroundings with plenty to keep everyone occupied . Value for money as it is easy to spend the entire day there . Animal enclosures are well set out and staff are all welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,583
    935
    254
    91
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

you can't fail with a trip to Chester zoo. It might seem quite pricey but the animals will keep the kids entertained for a full day, although if the are small, it maybe best to avoid the bat cave. Although the food provided in the cafes has improved a lot in recent years, it is still quite expensive, so if you are on a budget it might be an idea to bring your own, There are plenty of picnic areas and indoor barns to eat in. Lots of babies to see when we visited, giraffe, elephant, etc. Be aware that the zoo is huge and in two parts so there is potentially a lot of walking. There is a monorail connecting the 2 and a boat in the summer, but I find it quite pricey. I go with family at least once a year, and what we tend to do is start on the far side where there are more exhibits before lunch, the do the other side afterwards. Car parking is free and plentiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun day out for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chester zoo is a great place to go for people of all ages. It is reasonably priced, as it is a large zoo with lots of different animals. It was great to see the babies, including the rhino and the tigers. We took our own food, and there are plenty of benches/picnic areas. Not sure how expensive the food in the cafes is but I'd imagine it's cheaper to take your own. They give you a zoo map, which is useful, as some of the animals aren't signposted very well and it is a good way to make sure you don't miss anything. We spent around 5 hours there and saw most animals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day at Chester Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our visit in general and there is a good selection of animals, however, had to walk out of the monkey enclosure due to the overwhelming smell. Tickets are very expensive plus all other activities inside the zoo are at a cost e.g. the monorail; digging for fossils etc. Would like to see the play areas supervised by staff, as e.g. lots of older children playing in the area reserved for 3 to 5 year old children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“chester zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent visit for familes.plenty to do.take a picnic as fod can be expensive.. my children enjoyed all the animals except the bat cave. Spent at least seven hours before it was time to go home.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.