We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Open Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Racecourse

Chester Racecourse
The Racecourse, Chester CH1 2LY, England
01244 304600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Try the Open Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We've visited Chester races a couple of times and have previously paid for Tattersall tickets and been disappointed with their facilities; long toilet queues, extortionate drink prices with long queues, questionable clientele... We thought we'd give the open £12 option a go. We booked online with box office collection, seamless and meant no queuing.
We took a picnic blanket, a cool bag of ice, a bottle of gin and some tonics. Total price for our drinks, food and tickets was <£50.
The weather stayed dry, the atmosphere was great, there are bars and food outlets if you want. The all important toilet queues were a lot better and the people were all more relaxed and less pretentious.
Not sure I would want to be there if the weather was wet but on a dry day it is great!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    137
    39
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heath Hayes - UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Visited - as a coach party - Chester on Saturday 16th for a days entertainment. We'd been advised to pay £ 35.00 for access to Tattershalls having never visited the venue before. Bought on the website two tickets for £ 35.00 each, plus booking fee of £ 3.50 and a postal charge of £ 5.00. In due course the tickets ( number 1985 and 1986 ) arrived. Tickets at £ 35.00 were available on the day so we could have saved £ 8.50 from the off. Access to the closure was swift and although steep steps were met with numerous ladies wearing high heels we soon go to the ground level. First issue : toilets. Plastic port-a-loo's in the bar area for ladies. Standing in ever increasing queues for the bars the sight of ladies backing into and coming out of plastic " p " pots is NOT something a £ 35.00 ticket includes. Who ever designs these stadiums clearly doesn't cater for mother natures call. Queues for the gents that were brick built, and the ladies brick built areas were " smelly " and unclean. Second issue : seating. There are NO seats. Where do 2000+ people sit when they want to rest their tired legs. Not one seat. Ladies and gents having to sit on concrete terraces is not what a £ 35.00 ticket includes. Bar prices and plastic glasses added to the insult. Food prices extortionate and not worth half of what was being asked. From what we are told - a £ 12.00 general access to the grassed central area would be a better choice and the facilities there - we are told - of a better standard to Tattershalls. Sorry Chester, next time we wont bother.......

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This must be one of the only race courses that is within a five minute walk from the town centre. We had a great day and even picked a couple of winners. We will definately return....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Standards unfortunately are dropping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

As a regular race goer and previous annual member , it's sad to see that whilst badge prices remain high standards seem to be dropping
We paid for county concourse badges and ladies toilets inside the main stand were disgusting after only the 2nd race
Queues at the bar again inside the stand were long ( not many in front of you ) but long waits and complete lack of organisation behind the bar
So we went over to the paddock and although queues looked better , all lagers had run out ...
Racing was ok but sad to see young girl lying in her own vomit on the grass as racecourse security walked passed her ?
Personally I think Mr Thomas needs to review standards or indeed the price of badges to reflect the overall experience of people's day

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All of a flutter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Race day in Chester is a sight to see. Everyone elegantly dressed taking the walk from Town to the Race course. The atmosphere is amazing, Weather permitting an excellent day out with friends and family alike. Alcohol and food is reasonable just make sure you don't loose your shirt playing the odd's

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Racecourse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.