We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marmite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Racecourse

Chester Racecourse
The Racecourse, Chester CH1 2LY, England
01244 304600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
Attraction details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marmite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great day out if you're a fan of stag/hen nights! After the race meeting has finished you can walk into the city of Chester which is the fist fight capital of the north west!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    137
    39
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a family day at the races and the atmosphere was brilliant. Plenty to see and do. We spent our time in the Long room where you could have a seat to watch the racing, Just a pity about the food which was expensive, uninteresting and stale. Didn't eat anywhere else so cannot comment on other areas to eat.
The area we were in was kept very clean.
Would definitely recommend it for a day out.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We are keen racegoers and have visited many racecouses, This would be our least favourite. The racecourse was dangerously overcrowded. We were in the premier area and it was packed with peo
ple who are obviously totally uninterested in horsera
cing. A high percentage were drunk, and there were se veral uncouth hen parties. I would like to think dress and behaviour like that would be banned in our Scottish racecourses. If there were others in this cramped racecourse who would have enjoyed watching the horses and the racing, I imagine they would have been as disappointed as us. As for the 'big' screens, they were far too small for any kind of meaningful viewing, Not a good experience and not one to be repeated.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Day at the Races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We joined family and friends for the "Families Day" at Chester Race Course. What a fantastic time we had, thousands of people were there enjoying the sun, fair and the horse racing. Never seen horses race before what a really great experience it was. Looking forward to doing it again next year.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This racecourse is superb, great stands, good view of the racecourse from the stand and there is plenty of bars and eateries around. Will be returning

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Racecourse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.