We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chester Race Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Racecourse

Chester Racecourse
The Racecourse, Chester CH1 2LY, England
01244 304600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Attractions in Chester
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
Attraction details
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chester Race Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

10 Minutes walk from the city centre, small modern intimate track without any pretensions. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    137
    39
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sara K your so wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Sorry you had a bad time however the Dee stand is actually good value for money as you can get on to the enclosure as well, it has bars , food vans ( and not just burgers) if you take kids there is a fairground. There are loads of toilets and it is a fantastic atmosphere , there are loads of Tote places to place your bets and the staff are brilliant at helping you place a bet etc.

I have been going to Chester Races for most of my birthdays the last one being for my 49th birthday and I shall be going this August for my 51st.

It is a great day out for all the family and if you want "posh" go in Tatts or County

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

we came to chester for a weekend and decided to come to Chester Races, we didnt realise that it was a dress code, we arrived and were told by the guy that it was dress code only and were told to go around by the side of the course, when we got there there was all different prices to get in to the different enclosers. we settled for the £14.00 each, the lowest was £10.00 the the one after our one was £30.00. it was an awful experience. we were basically stuck in a car park. there was no-where to sit only on steps which was full of beer from people spilling there drinks. we had wanted to eat in the restaurant but we werent allowed as it was situated in the dearer section. we were a furlong away from the winning post, we didnt even get to see the jockeys parading. we werent allowed into the chester gift shop as that was situated in the rich area. even in ireland where im from even the poor man can get to stand at the winning post. i felt like i was on titanic in steerage. i found it very Prejudice to say the least. we always go to tracks here in ireland and never have i experienced anything like this before. i will never go to another racecourse in England. we told the guys on the gate that we were heading home to ireland the following day and that we would like to buy something from the gift shop but he wouldnt let us through as we had no ticket. its set up really badly. surely someone who is in the £10 enclosure should be able to eat in the restaurant if they want? bad experience. Our holiday was going so well till we came here. it ruined the whole thing on us..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A winning day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

County stand was great. Views of course food and service all very good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Top day out, great venue, very different than Ascot or Sandown type course. Has a lot of character and a bit more historic feel to the place.

Bar was a little crowded but to be expected!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Racecourse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.