We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Atina

Caffe Atina
103 Foregate Street | City Centre, Chester CH1 1HE, England (Formerly 103 Foregate Street)
+44 1244 320894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 409 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $8 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Small family ran restaurant serving fresh home cooked food, great wines and beers in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly helpful staff. We have a full licence so you can just pop in for a drink with friends and family.Check us out on facebook for all our latest offers!
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We followed the TA ratings to try this restaurant. We found the food absolutely excellent and the service from the Scottish lady friendly and attentive.
The decor is basic but trendy. Unfortunately, the restaurant was nearly empty which left us feeling a bit uncomfortable. Another couple had been placed in the back room which made it feel even lonelier. It actually made us feel a little sad for the owners who deserve to have a succesful business as indicated by other reviews.
Our food was truly lovely and it felt like care had gone into its preparation. The wine was a bit average for the price paid but acceptable.
We just wonder if the name of Cafe loses out on potential evening custom. shame if that is the reason because we would otherwise recommend it and certainly try it again if visiting Chester.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Getting your name 'out there' is a struggle for a small family business so we really do appreciate your words.

Hope to see you again soon ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    39
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food to die for and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Probably the best restaurant I have visited in the UK. Had an overnight in Chester where I never was before so I done my research on tripadvisor and it put me on the right road to this magnificient restaurant. While the decor was understated the food and the service definitely was not.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Wow, what a review. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple but effective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great food. The menu is simple and small, but covers all bases. Very reasonably priced too. Would recommend anyone to go here

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Delightful review, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We also visited after so many good reviews!
The place was dirty, tables needed clearing, it wasn't busy, staff were too busy talking amongst themselves.
Food was bad, had the man-wich which was actually quite small and basically like soggy bread filled with a sloppy filling which didn't taste good either.
Don't like being so critical but it was very disappointing.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
There is no excuse for dirty tables etc. can only apologize.

As for the massively popular 'manwich' you had, we sell a lot so can only apologize that the one you had was below our usual standards and should have been noticed by the chef.

I hope you give us another go in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Service without a smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited Cafe Atina for lunch after the rave reviews on Trip Advisor but was left a little disappointed after the poor service we received.

The restaurant itself had a relaxed, informal feel and the menu was varied with a good choice. However, the service didn't match. We arrived around 2pm and were not warmly greeted (the waitress seemed annoyed to serve us then rolled her eyes when we told her we needed more time to order) when we ordered our food it didn't take long. The food was fresh and tasty.... but I wouldn't go as far as to say this is one of the best places to eat in Chester.

I would happily eat here again but next time I hope to get a service WITH a smile!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Caffe Atina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I'll start with a sorry. That's certainly not the usual service standard the staff have been trained too.

We want people to feel relaxed and 'at home' when visiting Atina. Thank you for you review, it does help us improve and learn.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Atina also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Caffe Atina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Atina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.