We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Court

Chester Court
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chester Court to your Saves list
Chester Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Wetherby
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

For a budget hotel this is perfectly located for an easy walk into Chester City. 15 - 20 minutes direct to the centre. Ample free parking, comfortable room with if anything an over zealous heating system and plenty of hot water. A good breakfast with a good choice. Highly recommended and we would certainly use again.

Room Tip: There are eight rooms in the main house with the remainder being chalet style, which we occupied. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
47
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 nights in this delightful and well furnished hotel. Very tasty breakfasts. Two cosy sitting rooms downstairs, one with TV. We ate in a light, airy conservatory style breakfast room. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when I had a couple of mini crises, which I sorted eventually. The 'double bedroom,' - room 5, whilst well furnished, was rather compact, in that there was no room for two people to move about at the same time. There was a TV and Hiar dryer, tea/coffee, biscuits, plus sachets of hot chocolate.
Small en-suite, but shower worked fine. Very limited storage/hanging space for clothes and suitcases, a bit difficult for a couple staying 4 nights with two suitcases to store. So really more suited to a short two night stay. Needed windows open at night to avoid 'feeling so enclosed/stuffy.' However it was not at the front of the hotel which fronts the busy Hoole Rd, so it was quiet. The hotel is close to Hoole shops, pubs and restaurants, lots of choice and an interesting suburb to walk around. A lively, friendly community atmosphere. felt comfortable in the pubs, could have a laugh with the local fraternity.

The Hotel is a good 10 minutes walk from station and 25-30 mins to town centre. The hotel also has self-catering apts which could be useful for families or larger parties. There is a new, very regular X8 bus that stops outside the hotel to Liverpool and we went to Cheshire Oaks for Christmas shopping and I have to say it was the least stressful Xmas shop I have ever done, ( I do not like shopping at best of times) It is worth a visit, lots of designer shops and others, with many bargains to be had. Actually had fun. In this respect the hotel is well situated for travel.

Room Tip: At back or side of hotel is quieter, check room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice and calm hotel in a great location, within walking distance of Chester City Centre. Ample car parking. Comfortable rooms. Fresh and tasty breakfast. We only spent two nights here but were very impressed with the overall package. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireleth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay again at Chester court, had a room in the courtyard which although small was good enough for us two......the water system noise at 02:00 was a little bit of a shock but for the price not too onerous......the room was clean and warm and above all hotel walking distance to centre so absolutely ideal......staff were fantastic and extremely pleasant!!!! Will be back next time for sure

Room Tip: Courtyard Room 8 had boiler that made lots of noise when adjoining rooms had showers / washed hands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel last night. Very easy to find, plenty of parking, welcoming reception, very pleasant sitting room, and a hearty breakfast.

Our twin bedded room was Room 15 ... lots, and lots of stairs, infact, at eye level we could see the chimney.

Compact, clean, nicely and freshly decorated ... but not ideal if you're tall. Being 5ft 8", my feet were hanging off the end of the single bed, and I wasn't going to chance using the shower/ bath - way too compact.

I imagine all the other rooms to be equally as nice, and hopefully more spacious, so I could be tempted to book again - just not room 15 or possibly room 16 (the only other room on the same level).

Staff were friendly and helpful, and had lots of leaflets about things to do in Chester. Easy walking distance to City Centre also (less than 1 mile).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Having read in previous reviews that it was advisable to phone and check which room you had, I did exactly that 5 days prior to my visit. On phoning I was told I had room 20 in the Courtyard, which sounded fine to me. However when we arrived I found that we had been allocated room 15 in the attic!!! The roof in this attic room slopes so much that you cannot sit up in bed without banging your head, It is also difficult to even take a shower without banging your head on the attic roof. I am 5ft 8in, a 6 footer would have no chance in this room.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location of the hotel is perfect for visiting Chester. It is only a 20 minute walk to the centre and for the less energetic there is a regular bus service on into Chester. The hotel is also very clean, with a couple of lovely communal rooms on the ground floor, where one can read, watch TV and have a drink.
The breakfast was great, and included in the price. The food was freshly cooked to order and of high quality, not like these buffet type breakfasts you tend to get nowadays, Staff in the restaurant and at reception were friendly and helpful at all times.
Unfortunately room service did leave a lot to be desired. On the first morning the mug had not been cleaned at all the congealed tea remains from the previous night was hardened somewhat. On taking it down to reception for a replacement their own words were "How disgusting" They also did not replenish the liquid soap, which was empty. On the second morning I removed the container from the wall and left it on the sink, so the maid would realise that it needed replacing. Imagine our surprise on our return that evening to find the container had gone but no fresh soap was there. Again a trip down to reception to get soap this time.
Not sure I would stay again unless I could guarantee that I would not get and attic room, which are rooms 15 and 16 by the way.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms 15 and 16, unless your height is less than 4ft 6"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Came home yesterday after a short stay at chester court.The staff were welcoming,obliging and friendly.The hotel room was adequate for my stay,large bathroom with over bath shower,wash basin and WC.Lovely lounge on ground floor with bar,very homely and warm.On check out a member of staff offered to help bring my luggage down,offered me a tea/coffee while he rang me a taxi.I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a busy area on a busy road,ask for a room with no road view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Court

Address: 48 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester Court 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chester Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Court Hotel Chester
Court Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.