We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another conference weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chester Court to your Saves list
Chester Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another conference weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice clean warm hotel, friendly staff, had two small problems both were soon sorted. Breakfast food was good only problem it was a little slow, and it would have been best to have coffee pot on table and not keep asking waitress for top up. Like other reviews 20 mins walk into centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
57
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

if you are looking to stay in Chester for a couple of nights then it is worth giving it a try but only if you like to walk the hotel is 20mins walk into the heart of Chester the receptionist said 10 mins but it was pleasent enough anyway, friendly staff the room was comfy and had a good nights sleep typical en suite room the only down side was the windows as it was an old victorian style house the window in our room was in a bad state and the main window you could not open only the side window opened which in some way was ok as it was on a main road it muffled out road noise. nice bar area to sit in with a seperate lounge, the dining room was in the conservatory which was very pleasent and the breakfast really hearty with plenty of it, it has a big car park which is always a plus but if you had to walk in to Chester every night for a meal and it was wet its not far enough to take your car. but would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Reasonably priced for the quality. Closed roads made our arrival more complicated than it should have been. We were in an attic room, with no lift on the premises, so had to lug cases up a long steep stair. Receptionist offered help but she wouldn't have managed very well. The hotel has some external chalet-type rooms which look better than the room we actually got.

Our room was a bit down at heel, with worn flooring and a loose bedhead. Its sloping ceiling accentuated its smallness.

Breakfast was OK, but not good. The service was a little offhand.

There are a couple of underused public rooms. Furnishings are adequate but not modern.

Overall impression was of a decent quality facility that was being run on the cheap, and that needs some additional resource allocated for maintenance and renewal.

Some nice planting in the grounds was in need of a little maintenance too.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in Chester for the weekend and this place was perfect. Situated on Hoole Road which is the main road into Chester from the east it is a 20 minute walk into the City itself or a 5 minute car, bus, taxi ride. The main house was built in 1880 and houses the breakfast room, bar, lounge and some guest rooms. We had one of the single storey courtyard rooms around the back of the hotel which were modern spacious clean and very quiet - Hoole Road is busy so if you are a light sleeper you don't want to be in the old house itself. Breakfast was very good, all freshly cooked to order with plenty of cereals and fresh fruit etc to pick from. The bar was cosy and we had a few drinks there as well. Lots of free on site parking. Happily stay here again, all the staff were helpful, polite and friendly

Room Tip: Go for rooms 7-14 which are round the back of the main building, they are modern courtyard rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Full English breakfast was superb,one of the best I have tasted anywhere.
Rooms spotless and clean and the bed was comfortable.Staff were all friendly and attentive.The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of space to park our car.The hotel was ideally situated to walk into Chester city centre (it took us just less than 15 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very welcoming on arrivle. Staff very helpful. Room was very clean and tidy. Good night sleep. Breakfast full English. Overall very happy and will return and visit again. Thank you for going out the way and making our stay a remberble one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a saturday a few weeks ago.

We popped up to see my partners sister for the day and wanted somewhere relatively inexpensive to stay for the night.

This was a great price for what you are given. Like Eddiesmum2002 we had a room in the courtyard with a double bed and then a single bed in an alcove. As said below, the courtyard is an odd experience for someone who hasnt "motel-ed" before but it is perfectly safe and is away from the road so unless you know its there you wouldnt think to pop round.

The room was perfectly acceptable and had all the bits and pieces you would expect in a room. The decor is a little out dated but i honestly dont care about that. I dont go away to be able to lie on the bed and look at the mona lisa, i go away for hot water, comfy bed and good service.

Our breakfast was included and the full english that i had was excellent and there was unlimited supply of juice, tea, coffeee etc etc.

Highly recommended and i would choose to stay there again if i go to Chester again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Court

Address: 48 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester Court 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Chester Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Court Hotel Chester
Court Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.