We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top drawer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bough Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Bough Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Bough Hotel
60 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 hotels in Chester
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The accommodation was outstanding and the staff made us feel very welcome and were most helpful and informative. We were immediately upgraded on our arrival to a beautiful suite. It was spotlessly clean and most comfortable. The breakfast menu had something for all tastes and was all freshly prepared and cooked. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel. It is a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    68
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
453
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It is obvious by the many excellent reviews, that this hotel are receiving, is that they are achieving good results because they are sticking to good old traditional British custom that is so rarely seen anymore - A custom/service that works - Happy, helpful and excellent management, Silver service waiter/tress staff, large very clean rooms (we were also upgraded) with plenty of shampoo/bubblebath/robes etc, excellent food and choice, easy access to the centre by walking (1.5miles) or cab (£4 -£6), easy access to desired destinations (zoo etc), excellent lounge with plenty of comfy seating, with a witty waiter who serves you well.

We will return here, as we were so impressed with everything, including big Ted on the bed!

Room Tip: All rooms look good and inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K'ford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've just come back from another stay at our favourite hotel. Every time we stay at the Green Bough I wonder if they will be able to keep up their incredibly high standards... the answer is 'yes'! In fact, it just gets better and better!! Nothing is too much trouble; even an unexpected request for an impromptu lunch resulted in a feast which included Belgian chocolate tart and clotted cream! Once again we were up-graded to a suite of sumptuous quality and on our arrival we were greeted in our room not just by Mr Bear but with chocolates, fruit and gifts. Who needs mega-chain hotels when you can get perfection at the Green Bough?!?

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a second time in less than a year. Each room has it's own unique style and it's own name. We chose a different room on the second visit and were glad to do so simply to add variety. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - the welcome is warm and the service outstanding. I would recommend dining at the hotel as, again, the staff are only too pleased to make your dining experience exceed expectations and the food is sublime.
We'll be back...

Room Tip: A look at the website may be useful for room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in October for 1 night we had booked the room the day before , I had spent time looking at reviews of hotels in the Chester area and this appealed to me , I was not dissappointed.
The room was good with a very comfortable bed, we were upgraded and treated to a selection of chocolates and fruit in our room as we were celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
We dined at the hotel, the meal and the service was excellent , and breakfast in the morning was superb with a choice of cooked to order hot breakfast and a selection of fresh fruit , cereal etc.The staff were all attentive and efficient , its so good to find a hotel that puts the customer first. I will return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a Hotel with a character of its own providing good service and good quality food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have just returned from an overdue and well earned break for my wife's 40th birthday. I had spent an age reviewing various hotels in and around Chester but just kept coming back to this place. I am a great believer in 'you get what whay you pay for' but this exceeded that. We got a warm welcome, uncomplicated check in and an incredible room. We didnt dine at the hotel (other than breakfast) but during our stay the staff proved to be attentive without being intrusive (a fine line) and did everything to ensure we had a pleasant stay, Absolutely first class. Oh, and the aforementioned breakfast was sublime and the Smoked Haddock and Poached Hen's Egg is a must.........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Despite my ascertain 6 weeks earlier that I had enjoyed the Grosvenor so much that I wanted to stay there every time I needed a place to lie in Chester, it was The Green Bough at which I found myself during a rare sunny afternoon in August. The Grosvenor was fully booked due to a Horse Racing Meeting taking place that day, so I had put my faith in Tripadvisor and checked in to their top ranked hotel.

As usual the Tripadvisor community had chosen well. I was greeted by a cheery member of staff and shown to a spacious room on the ground floor. The room had a feint musty smell and there was evidence of a recent flood from above in the bathroom light fittings, but other than that it was what would be expected of an establishment of this type. A reasonable sized TV, comfy bed and tasteful decor.

Having an hour to kill I was invited up to the ‘Rooftop Terrace Bar’, which brought to mind images of St Tropez or Miami Beach, but turned out to be an oversized landing on top of the fire escape. But someone had clearly gone to some effort up there, with decking and pot plants, in fact with the trees in bloom and the sun shining I struggled to think of anywhere I’d rather be.

After a drink I trapsed into town to watch an outdoor performance of 12th Night in Grosvenor Park (which was excellent). The Green Bough is situated on one of the main roads into Chester 15 – 20 minutes’ walk from the city centre. It’s not the most scenic of journeys, but if the rain holds off it’s pleasant enough.

Breakfast was excellent with all the usual fayre available to order along with a reasonable buffet section. There’s nothing more likely to put me in a grump in the morning than sub-standard orange juice, and I glad to report that I left there smiling (how hard can it be to squeeze a few oranges, or even just buy some Tropicana, and why do so many places insist on serving rubbish? Grrrrrrr).

Overall a very well run establishment, that didn’t exactly blow me away, but didn’t disappoint either. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Bough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bough Hotel

Address: 60 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 'best Small Hotel Of The Year 2006', Enjoy England for Excellence Awards. A warm, friendly welcome; luxurious surroundings, relaxing ambiance; thoughtful, professional service; superb food; dedication. The award-winning Green Bough is an exclusive, privately owned, Victorian Townhouse, lovingly restored using Italian wall-coverings and fabrics and original antique beds to provide sumptuous, individually designed, bedrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Bough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Bough Chester
Hotel Green Bough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.