We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devonia Lodge Guest House

Devonia Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Devonia Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Devonia Lodge Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 - 35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Gwynedd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“friendly and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent three nights at the Devonia this week .I found Marie and Mark very friendly and welcoming and attentive. My room at the front was very clean and airy although the furniture was a little shabby. I was probably in the same room as the previous reviewer and was concerned about the noise from the road and from the small bar underneath me. I can honestly say it was fine, I took ear plugs as I m a light sleeper anyway , Friday night the noise from the bar was a little louder but ended at 12 am.
Marie and Mark served a lovely breakfast and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. I would recommend the Devonia especially if you are looking for good value, near the centre of the lovely city of Chester and a clean and comfortable environment, no frills but lots of personable warmth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, it's much appreciated as we are trying to build our profile. We totally agree about the furniture in Room 7 and we've actually been today to price up for new bedroom furniture for about 5 rooms as we know it's now in need of upgrading. When we first bought Devonia everything needed upgrading and the budget would only allow us so much per room as you can imagine you don't get a lot for your money these days!! We have also just finishing decorating a couple of rooms since your stay so hopefully next time you come you will see the improvements. Thank you for mentioning about the cleanliness and good service, it is so good to hear. We hope to see you again, in the mean time take care. M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
36
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The rooms really need refurbishing. I know it is in the process of being upgraded but i think the owners waited for too long, our bathroom was literally falling apart. Don't take room with the window towards the street as it is really noisy and we could hardly sleep. Maybe bed and breakfast accommodation is particularly expensive in Chester, I don't know, for this price in other parts of the country I experienced much better conditions. But to be fair we could not find many places cheaper than this in Chester.

I can see that a lot of people liked their breakfast. Again,can't comment on that, I am not a big fan of English fry up for breakfast. When I requested veggie option they were a bit lost what to do with me. In the end I got eggs and fruits etc and it was ok, but I felt like they have never heard of being vegetarian before, everyone looked so gobsmacked.

Room Tip: not from the side of the street as it is very busy with a lot of noise from the cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Well they say you can't please all of the people all of the time.......it certainly seems the case in this instance. Whilst we are in the process of upgrading bathrooms and decorating bedrooms, all of our bathrooms are clean and very serviceable and are not by any stretch of the imagination "literally falling apart". We really do take exception to comments like these as they can be very damaging.

Also our rooms are in the process of being re-decorated but again it's just to "freshen them up" as when a lot of people use the rooms on a regular basis scuff marks do appear on walls. We are made up of a very competent team who are keen on keeping Devonia in very good condition.

Devonia Lodge is situated on the main A56 Hoole road in to Chester so you would expect there to be some noise in this busy area however we have excellent double glazed windows that eliminate a lot of the traffic noise but obviously if it is a particularly warm night and you had the bedroom window open this I'm afraid can't be helped due to our location.

I'd like to assure you that after 49 years of trading at Devonia with the same family we are used to catering for vegetarians and obviously as you remove certain types of food from your diet your choices will reduce but to say we were "gobsmacked" and only offered you eggs is really stretching the truth. You actually requested eggs on toast and a banana from our waitress and you made no mention of the fact that you were vegetarian at breakfast, we assumed that this was just your preference.

We are pleased to see our guests participating in feedback which we actively encourage to enable us to give other customers a realistic balanced view, however we are disappointed that your views have been bought to our attention now and not during your stay as I'd be unhappy to even stay in an establishment like the one described by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very warm friendly welcome. Would recommend this place to anyone best latte around :) owners make u feel like ur part of their family. Very clean and tidy. Would feel comfortable walking in on my own as a female.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for the mention Symone, hope to see you soon for a "lovely latte". Kind regards, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just arrived home after a night in Chester staying at the Devonia. We had a triple room. Room slightly dated but in the process of being upgraded. Very clean and staff attentive. Allowed us to park in their car park before and after check in/out! Breakfast was lovely and you could not ask for a better location. Great base to explore Chester. Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comments, really glad you enjoyed your weekend in Chester. As mentioned in your review we are in the process of redecorating our rooms (AGAIN....seems never ending ha ha), however it's always good to choose new furniture and colour schemes over coffee and cake!! so always a plus side. Hopefully next time you come you will be even more impressed. Take care, kind regards, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stopped here on the 31 August 2013 with 6 other girls on a Hen party (2 double rooms and a triple room). It's a brill place to stop, not far from the town centre and nobody had any complaints! The owners were really friendly and welcoming and served up a lovely breakfast in the morning! If I do return to Chester I would definitely return to Devonia Lodge Guest House and recommend to anyone looking for a cheap but comfortable stay :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review, so glad you all enjoyed your weekend with us at Devonia. You are all welcome back any time. Many thanks, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here 2nights with 2friends in room 3. Really spacious room nothing to complain about! Lovely friendly staff, full breakfast was very yummy. Very clean place to stay highly recommended! Walking distance from Chester town centre. Also lots of space to park in their car park at the back which we were also able to use after we had checked out for that day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review ladies, so glad you all enjoyed your weekend. We hope to see you all again. M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I live local in Chester, both my partner and I visited the bar twice and on both occasions enjoyed the company of the owners , its a great place to meet up with friends , the hotel itself downstairs and Bar bar area are immaculately clean and tidy , I would recommend this place to anyone, I also took my work colleagues over they all said how welcoming and friendlythe place was.

Will definately make it our local !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Janie, Thanks so much for the kind mention, we really appreciate you coming in to see us with friends and colleagues and you'll be pleased to hear that we are starting to do food (hot bar snacks & light lunches) in October. Glad you've made us your local out of all the choices in Hoole. See you soon. M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonia Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Lodge Guest House

Address: 33 - 35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonia Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDevonia dates back to 1856 and uniquely Devonia Lodge is the first guest house on Hoole Road in Chester both in time and location, Hoole Road (A56) is principally the main accommodation area of Chester, popular with visitors from all over the world due to its excellent location.Of all the guest houses on Hoole Road, Devonia Lodge is closest to both the city centre, (which is approximately 8-10 minutes walk), and 5 minutes to the railway station. The same family has run the Devonia since 1964, we offer you tremendous value for money and a homely welcome.Excellent ValueDevonia Lodge prides itself on offering you the customer comfort, service and highly competitive rates, our staff is largely made up of family and a competent morning team, each with their own personalities to make you feel at home.Stuteley's Cafe BarDevonia has been trading as a guest house for nearly half a century so we recently decided to open a medium sized licensed bar, (October 5th 2012) for residents and non residents alike. Stuteley’s is an idea put together by us to provide a Cafe Bar for all to come and enjoy, We feel that Stuteley’s is in a well located position for Mums that do coffee, Ladies and Gents that do Lunch to folk that like a relaxing drink in nice comfortable surroundings anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Devonia Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonia Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.