We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Attended to Our Detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chester to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Quite Attended to Our Detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Lovely hotel and staff, however it was our 40th wedding anniversary and our daughters had a bottle of champagne placed in our room on arrival. They also asked the hotel on two separate occasions if they would leave a note to say who it was from. The hotel agreed. When we arrived in our room there was the champagne and a small cake saying happy anniversary, with a card from the hotel saying, "from us to you" There was no note from our daughters. For one silly moment we thought the hotel had provided the champagne as well as the cake but they hadn't. They just forgot the note from our daughters upsetting both us and our family. When we complained sure enough there was a note on our reservation saying to leave a note. So attention to detail not what it should be. Lovely place though, would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    501
    214
    77
    40
See reviews for
234
763
29
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Doubletree Hotels in the USA and always enjoyed our stay so when we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a short break we noticed that there was a Doubletree Hotel in Chester and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful from the outset (helped by the lovely, warm chocalate cookie) and the whole stay was great. We ate in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and enjoyed a delicius meal on both nights. We said that our anniversary was on the second day and could we have a window table, sorry all booked up way before but we will try. True to their word, and some help from Amy, we waited a few extra minutes but had our window table on the second night. My wife and I have already recommended our friends to seek out this hotel if ever they decide to stay around Chester.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a package with afternoon tea, a couples massage and a night in the hotel with breaky. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, everything was superb. The initial service at check-in was very good and in general all the staff were friendly and helpful when required. The quality of the afternoon tea was excellent and we made good use of all of the spa facilities for the rest of the afternoon As we were there on a Wednesday, it was quiet so we could really relax, including the 30 min massage which sent us both to sleep. The room was a good size with a super king. The buffet breakfast was great had a great choice of hot and cold, sweet and savoury. All in all a really enjoyable stay - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a nice Hotel in its own grounds.DoubleTree has invested a lot to upgrade the rooms with white TV's and Air Cond. There is also a very popular fitness centre which making parking differ cult. I had dinner in Marco's my 3 course set meal was great value. It is much better than a Premier Inn which another reviewer mentioned

Room Tip: Book a Marco dinner room package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice spa.
Staff nice, place lovely and clean.
One criticism... Only 2 tea bags in the room.. Could only have 1 cup of tea each and only 2 biscuits.... Only a minor though.
Will stay here again.... :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay along with 26 other friends getting together for a hen party. 22 of the guests had spa treatments , 7 got a full refund . On arrival only one member of staff was available at the check in desk dealing with every guest checking in and out of the hotel. As our parties treatment started from 10.30 and ran through till 3pm we headed for the spa , no refreshments were available till 11.30. After asking 7 members of staff in 4 locations after 1hr 10 minutes we eventually managed to enjoy a glass of sparkling wine together. I have never found it so hard to buy 4 bottles of wine in a hotel. The hotel was clean, our rooms were all lovely and breakfast was also good and I would visit again, lots of socks need pulling up in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

dirty quilt and faulty hairdryer, had to be reminded to change even though i told them that I was part way through drying hair. Sinked blocked, shower part way off wall. Spa felt slimy that i couldnt wait to shower. Breakfast poor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.