We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chester to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely surprise Christmas present (groupon offer), on arrival the staff were really helpful and friendly, the room was ideal as it was on the ground floor in a quieter part of the hotel (room 35). the room was lovely, very clean and with all en suite facilities, which included an iron and ironing board, which came in very useful. We dined at Marco Pierre whites steakhouse which was absolutely beautiful, receiving a glass of champagne on arrival, the staff where the nicest staff I have ever dealt with, very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, our compliments to the chef. We didn't use the bar facilities in the hotel as we didn't leave Marco's till late. Before we dined we used the spa facilities which were included free in the package, what a lovely place, a lovely pool and the Jacuzzi was absolutely heavenly with the added surprise of the hidden outdoor waterfall Jacuzzi, I didn't want to come out , the sauna was great but too hot for me as well as the steam room. Towels were provided and slippers. the changing rooms are communal with a couple of baby change rooms which can be used if you prefer your privacy. The showers have shampoo and body wash, alongside a garment spinner to spin your wet costumes, bags are then provided to keep them separate from your dry clothes.
Breakfast in the brassiere was lovely, its self service so you just help yourself to as much as you want, everything was piping hot. and a good choice the chef made my eggs to order as a special request and was more than happy to help, he even gave me some cooking tips and suggestions. to help with my diet.
check out was a doddle, the bill was already posted through our door early in the morning of departure and everything was correct, they already had our credit card details so we just had to sign and leave with receptionist, this made it a hundred times quicker than queuing.
I cant wait to visit the hotel again as we loved every minute.

Room Tip: Room 34 is on the ground floor and towards the back of the hotel away from the brassiere which I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you fantastic feeback relating to your recent stay.

I am delighted that you had such a great time with us and took advantage of the great deal we have had running through Groupon.

It pleases me that you were able to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer from the spa, to the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse to breakfast in our hotel Brasserie and that nothing disappointed.

We hope that you get the opportuntiy to come back and stay with us again soon, and all the team are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Mratin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    501
    214
    77
    40
See reviews for
234
761
29
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Visited with my husband for a twilight spa package. On arrival the building looks really impressive. We both opted for a back, neck and shoulder massage which was great. I must point out that my therapist was 15 minutes late tho with no apology or explanation. Our package included a glass of bubbly on arrival but unfortunately we never received this. It turns out that unless you ask for it, you don't get it.

The relaxation room is lovely. The bean bags were a great addition, I've not seen this at other spas. Perfect.

We then used the aroma and steam rooms which were high standard. The wow factor had to be the jacuzzi area. Part of it actually goes outside! We didn't realise until we looked up and saw stars!! Really relaxing and a romantic touch.

We decided to eat in the restaurant which was great. Lovely service and fab menu. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Would highly recommend this spa. Overall a great visit and already planning our next.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review on your twilight pacakage with the Club and Spa.

It is great to read that you had a superb time here and really liked the Dreamwave room, and our outside jacuzzui area.

We hope that you can come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our visit was a birthday treat and we arrived at the hotel very early just to drop the car and visit Chester. We had intended to catch the bus into town but chose to walk instead (25 mins flat walk). The return to the hotel by a cab was £7.

The hotel is in a nice setting and the grounds must look good in the better weather. The twin room was on the ground floor not far from reception. A small complimentary birthday cake was awaiting - a nice touch. Room was quite small but had all the basics required (fridge to store your own drinks). A well appointed bathroom with a powerful shower.

The main purpose of our visit was to dine in the MPW restaurant and it did not disappoint. Fine food, drinks and very attentive waiters made this an occasion to enjoy. (When ordering side dishes to accompany your meal, you will only need one between two) We retired to the hotel bar for cocktails but unfortunately they were very disappointing. So poor that we took them to reception who directed us to the MPW bar for fresh cocktails to make amends (again a nice touch - perhaps we should have relaxed here after the meal).

Breakfast the following morning was a poor disorganised affair. There was plenty of choice on offer but the staff were clearly overworked and it took time to replenish the cooked items on display. The toasters were very slow and one didn't work at all. Whilst replenishing our drinks from the machines a waitress cleared the table before we returned.

Overall the MPW restaurant was excellent, however poor service in the hotel bar and again at breakfast let this hotel down. It has the potential to be very good if the staffing/service issues in the aforementioned areas were sorted out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time time to post a review in relation to your recent stay.

It delights me to read how fantastic your meal was in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, and that the waiting on staff were attentive throughout the evening.

Your feedback in relation to breakfast is apprecaited and will be passed on to the relevant department head. Please accept my apologies if you left feeling a little disappointed with the service received here.

We hope that you get the opportuntiy to return and stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice hotel indeed. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff. The cookies on check in were very good! Hotel throughout was very clean and tidy. Rooms were excellent and very, very comfortable. The Marco Pierre White restaurant was also fabulous. Breakfast was good although the eggs were cold - only criticism though. Spa facilities were also amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you ever so much for sharing your comments with us.

It is lovely to read that you had a relaxing stay with us and really enjoyed your meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, and your warm DoubleTree Cookies on arrival.

We hope that you get the chance to come back and visit us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice hotel, good room, good gym but poor bistro - the Marco pierre white restaurant closed so the bistro was very busy. we waited for an hour for the starter with no apology or offer of free nibbles. The bistro let down the rest of a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

It is nice to read that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed use of our gym.

I am sorry to hear that you had a long wait in our hotel Brasserie, I will feed your comments back to the restaurant manager to investigate, as this is by no means a reflection on our normal level of service.

We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A very nice pleasant stay at lovely hotel , we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. We made full use of most of the facilities, enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon, then followed by a late dinner in the Marco Pierre White steakhouse restaurant where all the relevant boxes were ticked. The rooms were all clean & what you would expect from this type of hotel. All in all we enjoyed our evening away from things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us.

I am pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us, and enjoyed use of our facilities and your evening meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

We hope you are able to come and stay again soon, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hi we visited on Friday 17th and checked out on Saturday 18th understandably only one night arriving at 4.00pm just enough time to have a drive round chester and see the spa facilities and have a few drinks in the bar. We had a meal booked for 7.15 Marco's resturant and that was amazing expereinece the food the service the amotsphere would recommend 100%. Breakfast in the doubletree was very nice and loads to choose from and was all well presented and nice area to eat. The room was okay basic really but was on the low level i persume there are nicer rooms and even suits but we didnt require this as the room for us is just for sleeping in. didnt have much dealing with the staff only on check in and the lady who checked us in was a bit hard to understand other than that overall a pleasent nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Chester.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially your meal in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

We hope you get the chance to come back and stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.