We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £59
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Chester
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great spa, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel after spending a day in the spa. I have visited the spa before & its excellent - a really relaxing day with a nice lunch.
We booked into the hotel after getting a deal for bed & breakfast for £78 - great price, nice rooms & overall good facilities with very friendly, helpful staff.
The one thing that let it down was something quiet minor -the toasters in the breakfast room! The breakfast itself was fine with plenty of choice but unfortunately by the time I'd waited for the toaster the cooked breakfast I'd selected was lukewarm at best. There were several people voicing their annoyance with this & as I said, its a small thing but it was very annoying at the time.
Overall a great place to stay, just sort some decent toasters out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us including a day in our spa.

Your comments in relation to the toasters in the breakfast room is important to us and will be passed on to the Brasserie Manager to investigate.

We hope that ou come back and stay with us again soon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    711
    445
    191
    69
    35
See reviews for
202
680
25
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hi, I stay there as I went to the Liverpool v Southampton home game. Spent that night in the Double Tree in Chester. Hotel really impressive, facilities were also impressive. The grounds were outstanding and so well kept. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend to my friends going forward.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was booked as an anniversary treat for our daughter and her partner,and proved to be a treat indeed.From the moment they arrived the wonderful staff here made them feel special and welcome .Not only did they give them a complimentary upgrade to a suite,but a lovely Anniversary cake was waiting for them in their room.The service was excellent ,to the point that when the coffee machine in their room ran out of coffee,a member of staff made a special trip to sainburys for more!Every aspect of the stay,from the food ,to the spa and the room itself was faultless.Thank you all ,your attention to detail and kindness made their day special.Highly recommended

Room Tip: Tell the staff when yoy book if its a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your daughters recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is wonderful to read how we helped to make their anniversary extra special with an upgrade to one of our suites and the complimentary annivesary cake. It sounds like they had a fabulous stay with us.

It is lovely to hear how all the staff contributed to making their stay a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

We hope that all of you will get the opportunity to come and stay with us some time in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Second time we have stayed at this hotel and it really is very good with some small niggles.

Rooms great, not overley large but well maintained and excellent bathroom, top facilities as you would expect from hilton. Great grounds good location large parking facilities.

Small points- self service breakfast? 4 star hotel? Don't get me wrong food quality excellent but not to even be served tea or coffee but this to come from machine, although effective is slightly disappointing.

All in all it's very good. We got a great deal and paid under 80 for room bb which is excellent value. If I was paying 150+ a night I really would fail to see the value. If you can get a deal that keeps the price reasonable absolutely would I recomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on your recent visit.

I am pleased to read that you took advantage of one of our magnificent promotions, securing a room for less than £80 including breakfast.

Your feedback in relation to tea and coffee service is valued, and will be relayed to the Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope that you are able to secure another deal with us in order to return in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here recently and had a great time, the hotel is fantastic and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are great and very modern, the bar area is a very nice place to spend some time.

I sampled the Marco Pierre restaurant while staying at the hotel and both the food and the service was perfect.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree on your recent visit to Chester.

It is fantastic to hear that you had a great stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and our staff helpful.

I am pleased that you were able to experience our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse during your visit and had an enjoyable experience there.

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely night stay at the hotel. We visited Cheshire Oaks in the day which was only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. We had a beautiful room and although we did not have any treatments the spa itself was lovely , especially like the outside pool area with waterfall feature. Reception really helpful and arranged taxi's for us into town which costs only £5 each way before midnight. Already planning a return trip with my girls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and are already planning your return visit.

It is lovely to see that our reception staff were on hand to assist with booking taxis so that you could get in and out of town easily, and that you were able to enjoy the lesiure facilities, inparticular the watsu pool and waterfall.

All the team are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the area, so decided to stay here.As we couldn't check in to our room until after 2pm, we just had to go on straight to the wedding.This isn't the hotel's fault obviously, but we didn't get to spend much time there other than to sleep and breakfast.We had a "suite" on the ground floor which was very spacious.It had a bathroom with toilet, bath/overhead shower, plus a wetroom with toilet and sink.
We had breakfast included in our room which was buffet style.There were plenty of different things to choose from including continental choices.It was good, but no better than I've had in some"budget" hotels in my opinion.
Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities therefore cannot comment.The hotel was extremely busy when we stayed, but this did not affect us, possibly because we were't there that long.Would recommend if you have time to enjoy your surroundings, unlike myself on this occasion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay here at the DoubleTree Chester on your recent visit to Chester.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing night in one of our spacious suites and enjoyed our buffet style breakfast.

We hope that you are fortunate to be able to come back and stay with us again in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.