We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can get a deal take it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chester to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“If you can get a deal take it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Second time we have stayed at this hotel and it really is very good with some small niggles.

Rooms great, not overley large but well maintained and excellent bathroom, top facilities as you would expect from hilton. Great grounds good location large parking facilities.

Small points- self service breakfast? 4 star hotel? Don't get me wrong food quality excellent but not to even be served tea or coffee but this to come from machine, although effective is slightly disappointing.

All in all it's very good. We got a great deal and paid under 80 for room bb which is excellent value. If I was paying 150+ a night I really would fail to see the value. If you can get a deal that keeps the price reasonable absolutely would I recomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on your recent visit.

I am pleased to read that you took advantage of one of our magnificent promotions, securing a room for less than £80 including breakfast.

Your feedback in relation to tea and coffee service is valued, and will be relayed to the Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope that you are able to secure another deal with us in order to return in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    529
    226
    82
    44
See reviews for
245
811
31
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here recently and had a great time, the hotel is fantastic and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are great and very modern, the bar area is a very nice place to spend some time.

I sampled the Marco Pierre restaurant while staying at the hotel and both the food and the service was perfect.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree on your recent visit to Chester.

It is fantastic to hear that you had a great stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and our staff helpful.

I am pleased that you were able to experience our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse during your visit and had an enjoyable experience there.

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely night stay at the hotel. We visited Cheshire Oaks in the day which was only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. We had a beautiful room and although we did not have any treatments the spa itself was lovely , especially like the outside pool area with waterfall feature. Reception really helpful and arranged taxi's for us into town which costs only £5 each way before midnight. Already planning a return trip with my girls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and are already planning your return visit.

It is lovely to see that our reception staff were on hand to assist with booking taxis so that you could get in and out of town easily, and that you were able to enjoy the lesiure facilities, inparticular the watsu pool and waterfall.

All the team are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the area, so decided to stay here.As we couldn't check in to our room until after 2pm, we just had to go on straight to the wedding.This isn't the hotel's fault obviously, but we didn't get to spend much time there other than to sleep and breakfast.We had a "suite" on the ground floor which was very spacious.It had a bathroom with toilet, bath/overhead shower, plus a wetroom with toilet and sink.
We had breakfast included in our room which was buffet style.There were plenty of different things to choose from including continental choices.It was good, but no better than I've had in some"budget" hotels in my opinion.
Unfortunately, we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities therefore cannot comment.The hotel was extremely busy when we stayed, but this did not affect us, possibly because we were't there that long.Would recommend if you have time to enjoy your surroundings, unlike myself on this occasion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay here at the DoubleTree Chester on your recent visit to Chester.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing night in one of our spacious suites and enjoyed our buffet style breakfast.

We hope that you are fortunate to be able to come back and stay with us again in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, we booked the MPW restaurant for the first night but it was so good we went back again on our second night.
The pool area was really nice. The outside part was a novelty and such a good idea.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived.
There were weddings happening in the hotel but there seemed enough room that you didn't feel you were gatecrashing someone's party.
Would definitely recommend.
Handy for Chester Zoo.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for review on our hotel.

It is great to see that you had a nice weekend with us, and inparticular enjoyed the food in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

I am pleased to read that all staff members were welcoming and accommodating throughout your stay, your feedback is really important to us and will be relayed back to the team here at the DoubleTree.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Within an hour of us checking in we came out of the spa to find that the spa receptionist had given our room key to as she described two dodgy looking men who had apparently given her our surname and our room number. As we had left all our valuables in the room rather than take them to the spa with us i was in a state of panic that our room was about to be broken in to especially as i had already noticed that it was on the first floor right next to a fire exit. The receptionist didnt seem too concerned so i then had to cause a scene in the main reception demanding they send security to our room asap. We had a lucky escape our valuables were there but i feel this was only down to us coming out of the spa so soon after the men had taken our key. I then had to go back to reception to ask to complain to a manager who was pleasant but didnt seem too bothered. I also had to find the same manager in the restaurant he worked in later on for an update on the incident. I was told the stolen key had been deactivated and not to worry but neither my boyfriend or i could sleep properly as we were worried the men would come to our room in the night. Not once was i contacted after the incident by any hotel employee and not once was i offered a change of room. This is just not the type of service i am used to or expect from hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the comments in relation to your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced.

I have located your contact details from your profile and passed these over to the Club Manager who will contact your directly to discuss this further.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived late at the hotel, I was suprised at how nice the surrounding grounds were when I arrived. I parked the car (free of charge) and was quickly checked into the room and given a complimentry cookie which I thought was a nice touch.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room and bathroom was equipt with the usual amenities such as tea and coffee making facilities, soap, shower gel, shampoo, lotion etc. The only thing I would of liked is more plug sockets as there was only 1 which I could use which was not by the bed, just outside the bathroom door.

The hotel itself is quite a lively place. There was a wedding taking place in the morning. There was a number of young couples enjoying the bar when we arrived. The drinks are reasonably priced and could be added to the room bill if requested.

I did not have the chance to try the spa facilities so I would of liked to stay longer to enjoy them. I would recommend a 2 night stay to make the most out of this hotel

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is wonderful to read that you had a lovely stay with us, and enjoyed the benefit of our complimentary car parking.

I am pleased you were greeted to DoubleTree standard with your warm cookie and found your room to be well equipped. There are more plug sockets in all of our rooms, these are located in the power tower in the desk in the bedroom area.

We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again in the near future, especially so that you can sample the facilities in the Club and Spa area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.