We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, very clean and fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value, very clean and fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed for one night in march. Reception staff very polite and helpful, check in extremely efficient. Rooms perfect size for 2 people. TV, small wardrobe dressing table with kettle and lots of complimentary tea and coffee and two delicious cookies. Bathrooms spotless looked to be newly refurbished. Again more than enough room. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the restraunt looked busy. Due to the time of booking we received 3 complimentary drinks each, wide selection and definitely something for everyone. Two rooms for the bar, one larger with tables and tv, then a smaller one with sofa's and relaxing chairs. Rooms very quiet at night, stayed in 121 so was looking to the back of the hotel, rooms on the front may have been a little noisier as the hotel was 200 yards to the entrance to the train station, very convenient if using public transport. We drove and parked in their sister hotel over the road. 24hrs parking £10, fully secured and CCTV. Also has breakfast included in our stay, it finished at 9:30, we went down at around 9am and the food was still fresh, it had not been sat their since the beginning of breakfast in the buffet style heaters. Chester city centre is a 5 - 10 minute walk and even though we were two females travelling alone we felt more than comfortable walking to and from the hotel as it was getting dark. All in all a very nice hotel and very good value for money, great location, can't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    155
    147
    85
    66
See reviews for
42
215
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I arrived in Chester in the rush hour and drove around looking for hotels. The Premier Inn had no parking out front and, as my husband has limited mobility, we had to look elsewhere. Just up the road at The Westminster we were able to park out front and the friendly receptionist offered us dinner, bed and breakfast with a free bottle of wine for £99.00--bargain!--and cheaper than the Premier Inn! The room was very comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom. We slept like logs and enjoyed a lovely breakfast with good portions and plenty of choice. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

lovelly hotel.very clean.double room we had was excellent.we went friday to monday.brecfast really good.2 minutes from station.10 minutes from town centre.would go back if got good deal

Room Tip: good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed again at the Westminster and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The staff as always were pleasant and welcoming. The room was small but had everything that you would expect. The food both breakfast and dinner were of a good quality. The location of the hotel is great with regular bus service or a pleasant walk in to the centre of Chester. If you are travelling by train you couldnt be in a better spot. All in all another enjoyable stay at the Westminster and real good value for money (£137 for two nights per couple bed and breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Had a good break in hotel between Christmas & New Year. A good place to stay to see the sights of Chester

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here last year just got back from Chester and stayed in a 2 star hotel which is better than this 3 star hotel this hotel is in a great location but really needs a bit of updating festa bit dirty and old the room we had and it was very noisy from the pub next door also the room was very very hot and we couldn't open the window big bathroom and big bed but very small room

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

went here for my birthday in January and it was pretty good!!

the bar was free for 2 hours and was well worth the visit.

breakfast superb keep it up

enjoy!!

Room Tip: go by train
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.