We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“perfect!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

we stayed here for a fri and sat night with 4 guys as we were working in the area,i hope my boss isnt reading this review!!!! the hotel is great and close to centre and local places for a carry out not to mention a few pubs and a restursants ...we all slept well thanks to the bar man serving us on the friday,the breakfast was excellent at 10am(suppose to start at 830am on site)rooms all prefect staff are great ...lets just say sat nite was great not to mention half day sunday!! sorry gaffer!!!!!on a whole the hotel is perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    147
    85
    66
See reviews for
42
215
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

After reading the reviews for this hotel, we were very dubious as it was a last minute booking, however, we had an executive double room which was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was good, staff helpful. We got more than we paid for at £70 per night for B & B, and free bar, this was excellent value. Admittedly the decor is rather strange, especially the fushcia walls in the lounge bar but this was not important to is. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Having just spent a long weekend in chester at Hotel Westminster.
Breakfasts good, dinners average.
Rooms no heating, first weekend of November - like an iceburgh.
Lounge / TV rooms, none. Nowhere to relax after dinner.
A hotel I would not recommend and would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed two nights here, arrived by train so location was perfect with no parking worries. used free shuttle bus [10 min frequency] from outside station which dropped us off right outside M&S in town. [note: will be charging £1 from 19th November] still cheaper & easier than parking fees. Staff were friendly & helpful, breakfast was great, rooms were spotless but were perhaps getting a little tired though I did notice that painters were working at end of corridor so this will presumably change soon. Apparently this hotel is sometimes used by coach parties but there were none in while we were there so it was quiet. Overall would use again & would recommend. It made a nice change that there were sufficient tea coffee & sugar sachets in the room!! Beds were comfortable.Massive bathroom

Room Tip: We had 212 at the rear, lousy view but plenty of space .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for five days in October 2011. Our experience was of good food, friendly and informative staff, together with a very clean, comfortable and interesting hotel.
We would not hesitate to book again whenever we visit Chester

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed here for the second time with my partner. Heard about the 'free bar', inwhich we had to pay an extra £10 ontop of a £69 room, which seems quite expensive. Yes, we paid a little more but it was worth it! The drinks available were not just 'house' brands which I thought would be, the list was all of of the well known brands which meant we could drink and actually enjoy! Moreover, the room we were put in was excellent. Very spacious and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee, tv was great. Cosy and warm room. Nice wide windows. Very polite and welcoming staff. Fantastic breakfast choice too in pleasant surroundings. Love the decor of tudor meets modern. Overall, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Found this hotel by chance when looking for somewhere not to far from Manchester airport for a morning flight. Staff were very friendly and we were given a corner room on the first floor that was very well appointed. Limited free drinks in the bar for 1-2 hours was a bonus. Well located for several restaurants. For an overnight stay was hard to fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.