We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff but spoilt by in-family friendly policies & room problems.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good staff but spoilt by in-family friendly policies & room problems.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed in the Queen Hotel during a weekend break to visit Chester zoo with our 10 month old son.

We were initially booked to eat Dinner in the breakfast room. When we established this was not the restaurant we were initially told this was because the restaurant was busy & then that babies were not suited to fine dining. On pointing out that our son has been eating out at fine dining / michelin restaurants since he was born we were told this was the owners policy. We were allowed to book a table for 6.30 thus curtailing our day plan.

Good in the restaurant was good and the cocktail designing service excellent. The one let down was that on going to sign for our bill I was told the room key was not authorised despite my having already authorised it on check in. I asked the lady to check with reception but she refused and insisted I go to my room to fetch my bank card. I did so and whilst in my room spoke to reception to confirm my card was authorised. Again I found this impolite and discourteous when a simple call would have identified the ladies error. Very poor example of customer service.

Our room was well furnished but was very warm. Upon highlighting that our room was hot we had a visit from a helpful gentleman who revealed there were problems with the air conditioning on our floor before moving us to another room on that floor where again the air conditioning stopped working after an hour. As we had no inclination to move room again late at night we simply highlighted this as a necessary repair to housekeeping in the morning and were told it couldn't have broken?!! Of course not we simply chose to have a disturbed night with our baby in a sauna and no functioning air con!

This hotel has every potential to be good but our experience was disappointing

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    519
    183
    110
    86
See reviews for
154
976
35
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, Kent, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a Special deal and cannot fault the hotel. Our room was clean, quiet and with a queen size bed. The evening meal we ate in the hotel was superb and the restaurant manageress polite and attentive. The only slight niggles were having to ask for the heating to be put on (it was a chilły late afternoon) and the breakfast was like warm (understandable since it is buffet style) but served on cold plates. However, these are small criticisms and we would definitely use the hotel again if visiting Chester.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 143 which was very quiet. The public car park nearby is only £6 for 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queendeputy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ian-From-Kent,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you found breakfast to be warm, this certainly should not be the case and plates should always be hot. Given the fluctuating temperatures recently the times at which the heating has been on has varied significantly day to day - I am sorry we didn't get this quite right.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arriving at the Queen hotel following a fairly long drive, we were slightly disconcerted to find there was no car park, however there was a half hour waiting time directly outside the hotel, main enterance. A. Concierge helped with luggage, a swift check in and we were directed to the nearby car park. Be aware that this has to be paid for but ten pounds a day is not exorbitant. Our room was in the new Kings wing, it was bright with a calm decor, luxury bathroom and a bed big anough for the whole family. It was also, surprisingly quiet, considering the proximity of the rail station and the large construction works going on all round. We had an inclusive dinner in the Kings restaraunt. The choice was slightly limited, especially as we stayed for two nights. When we told our waiter that we were a bit disappointed it was swiftly remedied with an allowance toward the a la carte menu. This was the tone of our stay, nothing was to much trouble for the staff, all were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very convenient for the town centre, a bus leaves from outside the station, costing a pound, straight to the centre and, more to the point following a hard days walking, back again! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Kings rooms, overlooking the courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queendeputy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Julia W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be welcoming.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an amazing break at the Queen Hotel last weekend!! Hotel was beautiful and a very good deal, was in a good location for the train station and the town centre. Room was lovely and tidy and the bed was very comfy. Staff were fantastic and friendly, would like to add a special mention to the gentleman (looked like Ed Sheeran) didn't catch his name, who waited on us in the restaurant within the Kings Suit was really helpful went out of his way to help at all times and even wrote us a bar list of the area!! Food was delicious!! Would definitely recommend a stay here and would definitely stay again!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queendeputy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear natalie s,

Thank you for your lovely comments following you stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you especially for your comments regarding Ryan in our Kings' Grill - he is a star and our reigning 'employee of the year'.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice Hotel. Spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and attentive. Our room was well appointed, quite spacious with a very comfy bed. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but manageable. Breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choice and bucks fizz on arrival too! Added bonus of an excellent singer with an acoustic guitar on Sunday morning, fantastic idea! Good location opposite the train station and a 10 minute walk into town. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queendeputy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Carrie M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.