We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Premier Queens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Premier Queens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome from smiling staff. Lovely room in the Kings building with climate control, especially welcome as weather hot! Bathroom modern with power shower & separate bath, comfy bed and room nice and clean too.
Breakfast buffet very tasty with great range of food on offer including Bucks Fizz.
Staff we're very friendly and always ready to help.
Will be returning!

Room Tip: The Kings building offers climate control, comfy beds. Only downside is there's 7 floors and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    520
    183
    110
    86
See reviews for
154
983
35
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrived at Hotel which is opposite the railway station in Chester..
Parked in their car park.... Lovely hotel, looks recently refurbished..Friendly staff..
Standard room with B&B and evening 3 course meal..
Room was fab for a standard room.. Large, clean and light...only 1 thing let it down was there was no air con. The room was so hot during the night the window was wide open but with
no wind so no cool breeze came into the room.. Room is facing the inner court Yard..

Table booked for 4 people as our friends were stopping as well..
Dinner was great.. Efficient friendly waiting staff and professional chefs.. Good food..
Everything was fab..
In the morning we had breakfast about 9am.. Lots of different choice from cold to hot dishes.
Help yourself breakfast which I prefer... Chef on hand to do scrambled egg etc.
The only thing which annoyed me is the parking fee... You can park for £15 Sat and Sunday but we stayed the Sunday night and still had to pay £15... No discount.. POOR POOR!!!!
I'd defo stay there again but not park in their car park....
Overall Great stay... Well done to all,,

Room Tip: Have a court yard room... check parking fee first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel to celebrate my Nephew's 21st Birthday and I was compelled to share the wonderful service and stay we enjoyed. From arriving at the hotel we received a wonderful welcome, a room upgrade, the restaurant menu was varied and each dish was absolutely delicious. The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean and the service is better than many 5 star resorts I have stayed in. I rarely complete reviews however, after such a fantastic stay at this hotel, I wanted to share my experience. I cannot recommend the Queens Hotel enough, I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Citall2013,

Many thanks for your fabulous review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your exceptionally kind comments have been shared with all the team members, who I know will be greatly motivated by such generous feedback.

I am particularly pleased you enjoyed your dinner experience. Our Kings' Quarters Grill and Cocktail Lounge has recently been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and I am delighted that you found everything to your liking.

A belated, happy 21st birthday to your nephew, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen on your next visit to Chester.

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Can't be bettered for a business trip, walking distance to a range of great restaurants, 50 yds from the entrance of the station and some attractive and quirky rooms. Stayed there one night and thought that the service and facilities are all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, smile nicely at reception as the rooms do vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review following your recent stay here at the Queen.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope you had a successful business trip.

I did have a little giggle regarding your tip about 'smiling sweetly at reception'! It is true that our rooms vary, and that is one of the wonderful quirks of this building. The Victorians were very much caught up in social hierarchy and therefore, the higher class you were, you larger the room you were given. Thankfully, those days are gone, and I do hope the little artistic touches we have added to all our rooms make size and aspect less important.

Thank you again - your extremely generous comments are very much appreciated.

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed over on a 1 night deal with friends. Very impressed with staff and interior and location. Food was excellent as was the room .The only negative is the warmth of room but possibly should have requested fan .The only other fault is having to pay £15 for parking one night whereas I am sure they could reduce it to £5 as it cots £ 15 for weekend stay .I would recommend this place to others for an experience of relaxing and indulgence

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear mark d,

It was great of you to write such a lovely review - thank you on behalf of all the team.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendation to others regarding relaxation and indulgence!

The weather has been a particular 'scorcher' recently. I know we really shouldn't moan, but as a nation we are particularly good at that! The Grade II listing of this building makes the fitting of air conditioning in the old parts of the building very difficult. We do, however, offer 87 rooms with full air conditioning and digital climate control, which are available at a small upgrade charge. When booking, look out for bedrooms listed as King Executive - these are the ones.

Regarding parking, I do understand that this can be annoyance. It is, however, now a normal and necessary 'evil' in all city centres where parking spaces are at a premium. We are lucky to be the only hotel in the city centre with a large car park attached to hotel, and are attached to the main line railway station, which is a relaxing alternative to driving, and in most cases saves a few pounds.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope you manage to take advantage of what little sun this English summer has left to offer!

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager

P.S. Good luck to Rovers this coming season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business. It was my third visit to the hotel and just as good as my previous stays. The hotel is really convenient for the station and very well maintained. All the staff are very helpful and efficient and the rooms in the Kings Wing are large, well furnished and very clean and smart. The added bonus of these is air conditioning in this hot weather! The food is excellent and I had dinner and breakfast on both days. The hotel has the air of a well loved and beautifully cared for business run by people who care about their customers. No hesitation in recommending this as a super place to stay in Chester.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the Kings Wing. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Vicky H,

A sincere thanks for your great review!

I am so pleased you chose to stay with us again and had such a good experience.

Thank you for your very kind words regarding dinner and breakfast. We put a lot of thought into all meal services, and with breakfast, fully concur about it being the 'most important meal of the day'. At the last count, we offer 103 different items, and ensure that all our products are locally sourced and of the highest quality. Next time you stay, may I particularly recommend 'The King at the Queen' - this was what Elvis had for breakfast every day - toasted bloomer, thickly spread with crunchy peanut butter and topped with banana, crispy bacon and maple syrup - highly calorific, but absolutely delicious!

Thank you again, and please make yourself known to me personally next time you stay.

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Three night stay with my wife to celebrate my 60th birthday. Hotel has an historic elegant feel about it with quirky, interesting decor. Location is great for the station and a ten minute walk to the main attractions, though the road is quite busy in places and there is an underpass to negotiate which was a very slight negative for us. Room was clean and spacious, though without air con was quite warm, so we made use of the desk fan provided. Booked a fantastic deal through Travelzoo for a midweek deal with breakfast and dinner included. Restaurant was stylish and the set menu very good (including the surprise birthday cake). A special mention for the very friendly wine waiter (sorry I didn't catch his name) and enchanting waitress Kasia from Poland who's charm and smile positively lights up the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Stepelin,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a positive review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and am pleased to see you took advantage of one of our dinner inclusive offers. Keep a look out on our website for further great deals - some of them are unbelievably good value!

We are so blessed regarding location, being so close to the walled city, but also attached to the main line railway station. A quick tip for your next visit - you don't need to use the subways at the top of City Road - instead, walk along the canal, which brings you out at the Cathedral - much more pleasant and quicker - it only takes 10 minutes.

Many thanks, once again.

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.