We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Beddgelert, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in this large but very friendly hotel on Friday 14th March. We were checked in by the very efficient and welcoming receptionists and were told we were staying in the kings suite on the top floor of the kings quarters. She insisted that she call a porter to escort us to our room as it wasn't easy to find. Upon arrival at our room we found it was very opulent,and included a luxurious bath and a large shower. The bathroom had a TV placed on the wall at the end of the bath,a very nice touch.the bed was very comfortable.we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the hotel,again provided by very friendly staff,that did a very good job,as the restaurant was busy.we enjoyed the pianist/singer and found the whole experience very relaxing. To sum up, the Queens Hotel Chester is very convenient, located directly opposite the railway station,and a pleasant short walk to the city centre,of this beautiful and historic city. The staff must be congratulated, particularly the lady on reception (sorry don't remember her name) and also Robert (in charge of the restaurant) but everyone we met was friendly and worked in an efficient manner. Very we'll done, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel if you are planning a visit to the splendid city of Chester

Room Tip: Kings suite in kings quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    456
    167
    101
    83
See reviews for
129
851
34
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently had a midweek break for two nights at this lovely hotel staying in the Kings suites. Spotless rooms, great service, amazing staff and great food. Everything you could want. The walk into the city at a leisurely pace took ten minutes. It was peaceful, good food, great selection at the bar and it was so beautiful inside that we invited our friends to dine in with us rather than walking into town. All in all we cannot wait to return. It made our break for us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The kings suites, warm, very large, great beds, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed her with my boyfriend on a Saturday night. We booked the 'winter deal' that included 3 course meal, drink and B&b.
Don't get me wrong, the hotel was clean, meal good etc, however I was expecting a little bit more from the room. It was nothing better than a good premier in type room. And this was in the kings suite. I have stayed in other 4star hotels for much cheaper, with better quality rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Kings Quarters in the Premier Queen hotel in February 2014. This hotel is just a short walk into the main shopping centre and is right next to the train station.

Upon arrival, we were checked in even though we were very early. The reception staff were very helpful and upgraded us to the Kings Quarters which was a real bonus.

I can't comment on what the older section of the hotel rooms are like, but the hotel itself is very beautiful and has a real old world feel to it. I really liked the patio areas outside and I'm sure they are very nice to use in the summer months.

The bedrooms are very luxurious with all the mod cons you would expect of a 4* hotel. The bathroom had a massive bath which was great to relax in.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was the occasional lack of customer service from the restaurant staff. The bar was only staffed with one person who seemed to cover the tearoom area and the bar, which meant a wait on occasion. Also at dinner in the hotel, the waiting staff seemed to be a little overwhelmed with a busy service. We waited so long for our drinks I had to ask another member of staff, who promptly left the bottle of wine in the stand by our table without checking it was the correct wine, or offering to pour it. I thought that this was a little rude and certainly would make me think twice about visiting the Kings Quarters restaurant in the future.

Overall, the excellent service from the reception staff and the maid service was enough to make up for the poor service in the restaurant, and we very much liked our stay in Chester. I would book the Kings area of the hotel to ensure that we would stay in the newer luxurious rooms if we were to return.

Room Tip: Book in the Kings Quarter rooms. These are lovely and very plush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed 8th march just for one night. Arrived early, booked in but room not allocated but reception staff took our bags for safe keeping. Hotel is straight across the road from chester railway station. Car park was a bit expensive but there is the railway one next to it. This maybe cheaper. Town was literally a 5 min walk from hotel. Plenty of decent watering holes along the way! Lovely shopping area. We stayed in the kings suite rooms. Lovely room, very clean & modern. Comfy bed. Bathroom was modern with shower & bath. We didn't have a meal there but did return back to the bar for a quick drink. We thought the drinks were a bit expensive £10 for a g&t & a pint of cider! It was only £4.80 at the wetherspoons down the road! Had a good nights sleep. Brekkie was really good! We both only had a cooked breakfast there was plenty of choice! Cereals fruits etc were available. I think some guests were offered a Buck's Fizz on arrival into the room! We missed out. Lovely touch was a lovely girl singer playing guitar! Very chilled out breakfast! Check out was very quick & easy!!!
Already planning my next visit for a girlie weekend :-)

Room Tip: Go with the kings suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived at this lovely hotel really early, well before our check in time. The hotel staff were very polite and welcoming. They placed our bags in a secure room for us and we went off to explore Chester. on coming back to the hotel we were shown to our room and asked if we needed any help with our bags, the room far better than we expected, it was beautifully decorated and had everything you could possibly need. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but we did go in for a cocktail, the prices was slightly higher than we would pay but they were very well presented and most enjoyable. The food that we saw going to the tables did smell and look very nice. The cocktail lounge was very relaxed and cosy. We stayed for Breakfast and this was one off the best breakfasts we've had in a hotel most enjoyable and relaxing the staff were polite and could not do enough for you. overall the hotel was amazing and was full of charm.
Please ignore my tip about the pool we did not see a pool but trip advisor wont let me remove it when I clicked on this in error.

Room Tip: Ignore my tip about the pool, I clicked on this in error! and I cannot remove it. I dont think this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed Fri 7th March - Tues 11th March.
Kings room with huge bed very comfortable and nice clean bathroom.
Pricing was confusing. Paid DB&B Fri and Sat and B&B Sunday & Mon.
Fri £128 Sat £168 Sun Mon £79
We asked in Restaurant if we could have set menu on Sun and Mon and were told it was £30.
Expensive I would say.
We went to the Abode Hotel, Michael Caines and had 3 courses on Sunday night for £18.95 each.
It was absolutely superb.
Don't know what rooms are like at Abode, but they were advertising midweek £109 for DB&B spring break, seems like a bargain.
Manager of Queens there seems to be a theme here. I"m second person to mention your prices recently

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel

Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.