We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Grosvenor to your Saves list
The Chester Grosvenor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Feast
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Market Drayton
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
1,363 helpful votes 1,363 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Loved our weekend stay here. It's in the middle of Chester City centre. The executive suite was amazing with a really good mini bar. Room service was great and when the food turned up it was under silver closhes. Great food, cocktail happy hour in the bar/lounge is well worth a visit. Will Defo go back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    208
    90
    42
    17
See reviews for
136
656
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of May. Arriving at the hotel it reminded me of the old style London hotels, several doormen in attendance to look after your luggage for you while you checked in. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. At breakfast you were able to choose what you wanted from the set continental menu or pay extra for the full English. These were served at the table, no queuing for buffet style. Not sure that I would return again, my preference is a more modern hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had an amazing day at Chester Races yesterday, however this was slightly spoiled by our experience at the Grosvenor Hotel. Having paid a substantial amount of money to stay here some of the staff were rude and did not make us welcome at all. Think we would have been more welcome at the premier inn and saved ourselves a fortune! Not impressed and we will not be returning to the Grosvenor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Was here on business quite recently. Wish I had more time to explore this quaint and charming city, but maybe in the future I can bring my family. Stayed at the Chester Grosvenor, perhaps the best place to stay while in town. The location is very central. It was right beside shops and restaurants. Right when you are standing by the entrance of the hotel, the East Gate, a historic part of the city, is clearly visible. Lots of tourists flock to this area to see a combination of Edwardian and Tudor-inspired architecture and design. As the weather was not that great during my short stay, I only managed to see the Chester Cathedral. Very pretty and picturesque. It was a few steps away from the hotel. Chester Grosvenor feels very much like a boutique hotel, but not typical of small hotels located in the outskirts. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are well-designed and very comfortable. Breakfast was also delicious. Did. OT have a chance to have tea or drinks, but perhaps next time when I return with the family. It seemed like a very busy hotel though, as I could only check-in after 3 pm. There were several tourist groups in-house, but still did not lose its charm and appeal. I will be very comfortable to recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues traveling to Cheshire, U.K.

Room Tip: Try to get room close to the lift as the shape of the hotel is quite odd so the corridors can be win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a wonderful experience we had today. The service was impeccable and the food was absolutely perfect. An experience that will always be remembered for the right reasons. We shall most definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We recently stayed for a short break. On arrival I found it a little unwelcoming at reception. Everyone was exceptionally polite but a little austere. However, I did warm to the staff as time went on. Our room was lovely.....very very comfortable bed, clean and well furnished. NO KETTLE or complimentary refreshments though.....mortal sin! A call to reception rectified this.

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast....I had the continental and my husband had a full English on both mornings. We had one evening meal and that too was delicious. As were the cocktails. Service in the restaurant was first class.

The hotel is in a fantastic position in the centre of Chester. The spa is well worth a visit.

Really enjoyed our stay and would have scored it excellent except for missing 'smile' from reception staff and NO KETTLE

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the hotel on a Sunday evening as a gift for my birthday. The hotel is in an excellent postion as it is in the centre of the shopping area. The room was lovely and the bedding was luxurious
Our only criticism was the breakfast. As our room rate included a continental breakfast, we paid the difference for a full english. My husband asked for no eggs or mushrooms as he has allergies but did say that if they could replace these items with extra bacon or sausage, he would be grateful. When his plate arrived, there were no eggs or mushrooms as requested but no extra bacon or sausage either. As a result of this, we thought that £25 for this breakfast was excessive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Grosvenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.