We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully indulgent hotel, excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Save Saved
You added The Chester Grosvenor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Chester Grosvenor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne Offer
Ranked #3 of 45 hotels in Chester
knutsford
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A wonderfully indulgent hotel, excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Grosvenor Chester is a truly amazing hotel< pull up at the front of the hotel to have you and your luggage whisked off to your room whilst your car is valet parked. Every room is slightly different, their junior suites are supberb. From the doorman to the porters, waiters, and reception staff, they are all so friendly and helpful. If you want a recomendation for a restaurant just ask, they will even book it for you.
You can, of course eat in, either at the brasserie, or at the Simon Radlet restaurant if you wanting something a little more " gourmet" Then Chester is on your doorstep, so many shops, so much to look at, the river is only a 10 minute stroll away. The prices are rather high, but if you want to be pampered this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    141
    58
    30
    8
See reviews for
85
451
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we recently stayed here as part of our honeymoon? we had seen the hotel as part of a secret escapes offer so had great rates and a free upgrade to a suite. The hotel has really done its homework, providing an excellent level of service and facilities. we had a lovely suite with all the usual extras and a huge 4 poster bed! the room was immaculate, clean and comfy. just great for a 4 night stay. we only used the brasserie restaurant but found the service to be faultless. food was great quality and the cocktails a must. we didn't try the spa but it looked lovely. the location of the hotel is great, right in the centre of town with easy excess by car to the car park or valet parking.

Room Tip: I imagine all are great quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

From the time we drove up in our car and were greeted by the valet, our brief time spent at the Chester Grosvenor was great! Our room was beautifully decorated and large. We dined in the restaurant and had a great time with the wine sommelier and attentive staff. The food was delicious as well. (Our booking included dinner, making the price of the hotel plus dinner a bargain by British standards!)
The location is right in the middle of everything and easy to walk about this charming English village. Gaining access to walk the city wall was about 50 feet from the hotel front door. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location, close to all goods shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had a "Secret Escapes" deal which was good value for money, if you were have to pay full price, it is very expensive (English breakfast for instance, £30.00 per head).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 which was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The doormen here make you feel like royalty - knew our names, parked the car, took the luggage to our suite, remembered who we were. Our 'room' (The Reay suite) was amazing, more like an apartment. Stunning bathroom, lots of marble with the best shower I think I've ever used. Fabulous comfy bed/pillows. Bose iPod docking station. Lunch in the brasserie was very disappointing compared to our last visit and the service was average at best; we were crammed in a corner almost on top of the people next to us, paid £10 or thereabouts for a hotdog and had to chase for our drinks. The waitress didn't seem to care so we didn't stay for long. Service in the Arkle bar was excellent - the staff in the Brasserie could learn something from their colleagues here. Turn down service was excellent - they clean and tidy everywhere again and replace used towels. During our last stay we discovered that the 'inclusive' breakfast was actually continental and for a cooked breakfast it was an extra £15 per person - so this stay we decided our money would be better spent at Carluccio's (which was great!). Yes, even the suites at a rack rate of £610 per night do not incude a cooked breakfast! It's the only 5* hotel I've stayed in where this happens. That aside, and despite the faults on this visit, we love this hotel and will be back again ... we just won't eat in the Brasserie and will take breakfast at Carluccio's!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed here with a friend for one night over the bank holiday weekend. the entrance to the hotel and the two gentlemen on the door were fantastic.reception is in the hotel foyer note to the management the women in reception were in cheap suits that were that tight no wonder they didn't want to sit down I had a male business friend with me who I thought was going to have a heart attack! the room was excellent but very very dated would appeal to americans doing the world tour. no tea making in room so if you don't want to spend ten quid on 2 teas and a paper coming to your room in the morning(which reception didn't mention there would be a charge) costa and smiths are across the road.must say though the whole hotel was spotless . I am a smoker and wanted a smoke at about 4am as we had to catch a flight I went down to the main reception to get let out of jail would like to thank the very nice older gentleman who was cleaning the bar and came and stood by the door with me to make sure I was ok . breakfast was fantastic all waiter service in the bistro younger girls and male waiters very very smart but older senior female staff once again in cheap suits about 3 sizes too small 2 had split the back of their skirts they were that tight . would I go back yes on a cheap deal not worth full advertised price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are travelling through the UK for a month and stayed in The Chester Grosvenor for two nights with our 10yr old daughter. We had a Junior Suite and it was lovely. Clean as a whistle and beautifully appointed. We asked for a complimentary tea/coffee tray and this was refreshed the following day.
Our bed was very comfortable and the extra cleaning at turn down time was excellent.

Our only complaint was the breakfast. I had read quite a few negative reviews before booking the hotel months before about the breakfast and thought that we would be more than happy with a continental breakfast which is included in the room rate. However, we found it very disappointing and are surprised that a hotel that has such high end service everywhere else could fall short at breakfast. Fruit salad with basic fruit and a couple of berries on top, juice that did not taste freshly squeezed, only one choice of yoghurt and porridge which none of us ended up finishing as it was so watery. We are not fussy eaters but this was the worst breakfast we have ever had at a 5 star hotel.

Special thanks to Kevin at the door who recommended many good local pubs, restaurants and was very friendly and helpful.

We would stay at the Grosvenor again if we visited Chester but would not eat breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel
The Hotel Chester
Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Grosvenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.