We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas party night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Grosvenor to your Saves list
The Chester Grosvenor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Feast
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas party night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed overnight here on Fri 14th Dec and had a wonderful time.

The greeting at reception was warm and lovely and set the tone for our stay there.

We had a great time at the christmas party night with a nice champagne reception and then the food was lovely. The meal was the best I've had at a christmas party night and there was not a massive amount of people there so although the room was full it wasnt a huge hall.

After dinner there was a live band and a disco which was a real good party night with lots of dancing and enjoyment.

The hotel rooms themselves are very nice indeed and with lovely comfortable beds it was a very nice stay.

I can thoroughly recommend the cooked breakfast the next morning also. It wasn't heavy and stodgy and was also very tasty.

All I can say is that this was a very good night in a very lovely hotel. It is also right in the heart of the city making it a great location for a bit of tourism in Chester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    208
    90
    42
    17
See reviews for
136
656
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have stayed in many supposed 5 star hotels but nothing has compared to this. We ate in the Simon Radley restaurant the first night and La Brasserie the second night and both meals were truly excellent!

All of the staff were first class and obviously the location is brilliant, I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Grosvenor proved to be a very comfortable hotel with a good standard of service throughout. Arriving by car is a slight trial given Chester's one way system but do take advantage of the excellent valet parking at a very reasonable £8.50 per night. The Deluxe rooms are spacious and quiet (except for the super strong slam doors - haven't top class hotels heard of soft close?). Service in La Brasserie is generally good with only a slight wait for a breakfast table on a weekday morning.
Overall The Grosvenor should prove a comfortable and pleasant base for Chester's shopping and monuments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Arriving 11am on a Saturday saw a small queue for the Grosvenor Shopping Centre car park of maybe 15 minutes, one in one out system. There is no reserved parking for hotel guests. The hotel has direct access from this car park between floor 2 and 3 and you will have a short walk to the hotel entrance as a result. Obtain an exit pass from reception on departure at a reduced rate £8.50,

We left our bags and spent a busy 3 hours christmas shopping. Our room was ready on our return and bags brought up shortly after. The room a classic double was fine for one night, for a longer stay I would prefer an upgrade though. I found it strange that there were no door closers fitted resulting in a loud bang when entering or leaving the room.

We had reserved a table at Simon Radley restaurant with our booking weeks ago, a good idea as people were being turned away on the night. Breakfast is waiter served and contintal included in the rate however £7.50 surcharge applies if having cooked english breakfast.

We were on a spa deal with a 60 minute treatment included which we both found relaxing and conventiently located on our floor 1. I didnt try the thermal spa as there just wasnt time but I would agree that £35 seems excessive for the very limited facilities, especially as there is no swimming pool. Entrance is free if spending £100 on spa treatments.

My overall view of this hotel is it feels like ' the best house in the worst street'. The city central location was perfect for shopping and parking in the daytime, however when all the visitors and shoppers go for the day the evening takes on a whole new image. Room 112 overlooks the high street and there was a constant stream of noisy revellers until after 2am which kept me awake. With the road sweep arriving before 7am and this did not make for a relaxing night.

There is a high guest to staff ratio, to cater for your every need. The staff go our of there way to serve and make sure you enjoy your stay and really were concerned about my disturbed sleep and I left fully satisfied.

Room Tip: High street facing rooms will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here before and returned for the Michelin restaurant. We stayed on a December deal of £169 per person including 3 course meal and breakfast. Cannot fault the hotel, really enjoyable.
The hotel is very well situated in the heart of Chester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Absolutely enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and luxurious. Bathrooms were well stocked and robes and slippers were provided (+++) Not the cheapest, but possibly the best hotel in Chester!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had afternoon tea with two elderly friends on a busy Saturday in December and was not overly impressed by the experience. I had booked afternoon tea in The Brasserie, but when we arrived (on time) we were told The Brasserie was full and we were in The Bar. I had specifically booked The Brasserie, but didn't make a fuss as there were lots of other people in the area. We were directed to the bar and then left standing outside the door and told to "wait here". We had a wait of almost 15 minutes until a table became vacant, what's the point of the hotel staff insisting you book a table if then there are no tables available, not a good start for my elderly guests who had trouble standing for that length of time.
Afternoon tea was pleasant, but we were not offered any more sandwiches or a refill of the tea or coffee (which went cold very quickly). Also no member of staff asked us if everything was ok. We were told the table would be ours for 2 hours when booking, but after an hour we felt very much in the way as it was obvious the staff were waiting for us to leave so they could clean up. When I went to pay the bill, I was told it was £87.50 and when I queried the bill it was reduced to £75 which was what I expected. I would reather leave a tip than have a service charge included so I can decide if I have experienced good service or not!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Grosvenor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.