We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten minute stroll to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brookside Hotel to your Saves list
Brookside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BRECON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ten minute stroll to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A group of us stayed to go to the races. Ideal for day at the races or a shopping trip to Chester as its very easy to get a taxi if you dont fancy the ten minute stroll!!. The staff were friendly and welcominging.Evening meal was good as well as service. Only downside was the small room with no window only window in the bathroom which made the room very hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    94
    46
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
145
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a two night stay in this hotel last week, the position of the hotel is ideal for visiting Chester only a ten minute stroll, the staff that we encountered were all really friendly and wellcoming, although the room was quite small there was a very high standard of cleanliness, the evening meal was very good and the breakfast was very nice, the only downfall was the room was on the back and above the kitchen and as the window was open it was a bit noisy.
Overall a value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms booked direct from hotel may be bigger than those booked through a third party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great welcome. Breakfast and evening meal were very good. All the staff were very very helpful thoughout our stay. Good location and if you were lazy like us the taxi only cost £3 to get to the middle of town!!! Our room was nicely decorated - but VERY small. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Overall good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Avoid room 23 as it is very small - cannot open the bathroom door fully as the bed is in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friend and I went on a shopping trip to Chester and stayed at the Brookside.
We came from York on the train and were able, with our light wheeled luggage to walk from the Station to the hotel. It took twenty minutes.
The hotel is lovely and comfortable. The staff are most helpful and cheerful, and the breakfast and meals are delicious. The wifi worked fine.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from The Greenway a a railway track which has been converted to cycling walking route. With a bit of prior planning on google earth, we were able to walk to the Sealand Trading estate, via the Deva link and the ernormous TKmaxx. We were also able to walk the very attractive to the canal basin and Chester. Whatever sort of trip you are on to Chester, The Brookside is just the ticket!

Room Tip: Front rooms have some traffic noise, but are double glazed. Back rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A comfortable two-night stay. Decor a little tired, but still pleasant surroundings.
The shower in our room needed a degree in physics to operate but produced results after a while. The shower doors were difficult to operate and could do with some attention.
Pleasant and helpful staff, and the meals (full English Breakfast or usual Continental) were well-prepared and served. Large dining-room with plenty of space. Evening meal was particularly good !

Room Tip: Room 23 (small double bedroom) is what it says; (Small). A narrow, steep, twisting 30 stair climb, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fantastic hotel!!! Me and my husband went to Chester after our wedding day. As soon as the hotel knew this they upgraded me and my hubby to a gorgeous four poster room. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and really friendly, recommended some good places to eat. The bar was reasonable and a lovely way to end the evening. Breakfast was delicious too. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My friend and I met up here for a short break at the end of July - very enjoyable and small enough to be personal. The staff were all very friendly - small negative comments my shower - room 18 - left a lot to be desired couldn't adjust height as when I touched it it fell off. Walk into town took longer than stated - but all in all it was a very nice trip and we found the Chester people very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Quite narrow tread stairs to climb to get to rooms not ideal with a case
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.