We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic get a way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brookside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Chester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Romantic get a way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel was great! Made to feel very welcome.Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner waitress was very funny and made the evening! Nice cosy sofas to relax on! An amazing four poster bed! Very romantic. Close to Chester (walking distance). Would highly recommend

Room Tip: 4 poster rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    74
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
116
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

First time in Chester, checked web site, reviews, history etc, all information regarding the hotel/hotels, Good reviews. HOWEVER! Arrived, bedroom/on suite dissapoiointed, a cupboard for a wardrope, only window was over the kitchen between the bath and the toilet. The bath/shower if you were a "heavy person you would go through the bath. Mould on bath screen/rubber needs replacing, toilet dirty. Clothes of previous occupencys under bed for how long! lampshades dark and dusty. Dull looking room. no natural light
BREAKFAST, Cheap cereals in plastic containers, Staff could not distiquish coffee/tea cups. Cooked breakfast awlful, poorly cooked sausage and bacon. Staircases/door handles etc need cleaning and repainting. Hotel from the 50's sorry....

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at Brookside from 5th July for 3 nights as one of a party of 11 from the Isle Of Man. I was in a small double room 22 which I loved. Very cosy,clean and a lovely bathroom and shower. The staff where extremeley friendly and helpful in every way,couldn't be faulted.We all had the evening meal for the 3 nights which again couldn't be faulted (we had 3 children in our group who fancied a pizza one night which wasn't on the menu but was provided and thoroughly enjoyed). The small bar satisfied our needs. Loved our stay and recomend it to all and it's only a short walk to Chester centre. If I was to be "picky".....I love the internet but couldn't receive it in the room, only in the public area. But hey ho!!! that doesn't retract what a gem of a place this is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros: A large, on the edge of the city, hotel ... Chester centre is only 1 short 10-15mins walk away. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. An excellent breakfast is served in a large dining room ... hotel has 25 rooms. There is adequate parking, secured by CCTV surveillance. There is a bar and our room (No #10, on 1st floor) was above it. There was a Karaoke Evening one night and we didn't hear a thing, so the rooms are adequately sound-insulated (but see Cons below). The Hotel does have a loyal Customer-base and is very popular ... a very good, deserved local reputation.
Cons: There are 3 floors and regrettably no lift (elevator). There is a major thoroughfare at the front of the hotel which is busy all day and into the night and some traffic noise did come into the room via the open windows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Our eighth year for race weekend. Two nights of pure enjoyment. Clean, comfortable and most obliging. Next years rooms booked. Deserving of its recent 3* rating. This is a very friendly family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. Value for money. Can't heap enough praise really ..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Whilst the location was good, only a short walk to the centre of Chester, and the upgraded room that we were given was very comfortable, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, our experience was tainted by the less than standard dinner we had on our first night and the three cold breakfasts. When the cooked breakfast was delivered to the table on the first morning we were warned about the hot plate. In actual fact the plate was stone cold and so was the breakfast on it. I thought that we were on 'Candid Camera' and someone was recording our reactions. We arrived early for breakfast the next day thinking that we were late the previous day, however, the cooked breakfast was still cold.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murton, Co Durham United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Always stay here when on business in the area. Staff are always helpful and polite. I would'nt hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.