We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rowton Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowton Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 hotels in Chester
Bagshot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of December. Although the décor of the hotel was a wee bit tired in places everything else was excellent.
Very friendly staff, excellent food both at dinner and breakfast. Comfortable beds and a very warm swimming pool.
The rural location also makes for a restful night away from the bustle of Chester.
To be picky they had run out of all draught bitter except Boddingtons and didn't even have bottled ale but this is a very minor quibble which didn't spoil the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had an 'excellent short break'

Thank you for commenting on 'Very friendly staff, excellent food both at dinner and breakfast. Comfortable beds and a very warm swimming pool'.

We are glad that you enjoyed your 'overall experience' and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    85
    29
    21
    14
See reviews for
86
213
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The room was well decorated and warm on the ground floor so had easy access for my husband in his wheelchair Unfortunately the entrance to the room was L shaped and very very tight for the wheelchair in fact he scuffed his hands. The bathroom door was not wide enough for wheelchair access seeing as he is an amputee he had no chance of getting in .He had to go out into Hotel to use disabled toilet .No seat or grab handles in the shower So I would say it is not really disabled friendly. The meal on Sunday was excellent but Monday not quite so good .Breakfast was excellent (sausages to die for) Staff were great and most helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay just think they need to get properly adapted rooms in this day and age.Pet friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are glad that you had 'a pleasant break' with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the breakfast.

With regards to our bedrooms, as we only have 37 bedrooms (all tailor-made in design) we are unable to offer a disabled friendly room, we offer ground floor rooms with easy access.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in November for a quick 2 night break before party season. Working in this industry it's hard to get a break and when you do, and head to another hotel, it's a bit of a bus man's holiday!
So thanks to Rowton Hall for a quiet, clean and fresh room, good breakfasts and friendly staff and a relaxing break. Cheshire Oaks is good for shopping too!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
What a fantastic review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your '2 night break before party season.'

Thank you for your comments 'clean and fresh room, good breakfasts and friendly staff and a relaxing break.'

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 x nights, my wife & me, arrived late 1st night but room sandwich/light snack service was excellent considering another function was taking place in the hotel/restaurant. Room was a suite with exc facilities, full complimentaries, TVs & phones in lounge & bathroom. Room tended to be cold (this was late Nov) with radiators hidden by heavy drapes. Wifi signal non-existent in room. 4 x poster bed. Hotel decoration exc throughout. Used swimming pool, sauna, steam room, user-friendly to access, most enjoyable. Breakfast ss buffet & wide choice of cooked with staff eager to mix'n match items. Wedding arrangements were first class and nothing was too much trouble, even all the vegan/vegetarian dishes. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you would recommend the hotel to anyone.

We are glad that you enjoyed your 3 night stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent 1 night at this charming hotel as we wanted to see the Xmas market at Chester. The Xmas market was disappointing to say the least although Chester itself is lovely. The hotel is very nice if a little dark in places. The food was good without being sensational and the service was enthusiastic rather than efficient except for in the bar where the staff were brilliant and effortlessly welcoming. The place is quite expensive for what they are offing as the evening meal proved. We were charged quite high prices for acceptable but ordinary food. We had to ask for the peppercorn sauce that was supposed to come with the meal for example.

A downside was the WiFi. Why don't the owners of these places see this as a necessity nowadays? Reception was patchy and the signal faded in and out as we were on the top floor. A log in was required which my windows tablet would not let connect (firewall or something) but the Ipad did. As usual the reception staff hadnt got a clue, although helpful and sympathetic.

If you are touring and using modern technology to help you find local points of interest, you need WiFi!!! Can hotel managers hear this please?

Room Tip: There are no lifts so avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review and we are glad that you had 'a nice stopover at Rowton Hall'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Excellent. Had a perfect birthday treat. Staff very friendly and professional. Treatments and treatment rooms lovely. Highly recommend for that special treat or any time to chear up a winters day. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Happy Birthday, we are thrilled that you had the 'perfect birthday treat.'

Thank you for your lovely comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited Rowton Hall for a wedding. The venue is idyllic. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is spacious and well laid out. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area is really comfortable and great for cosy chats. The health club is well equipped. There is little to find fault with.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful comments.

We are delighted that you found 'The venue is idyllic. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is spacious and well laid out. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area is really comfortable and great for cosy chats. The health club is well equipped. There is little to find fault with.'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#6 Business Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowton Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.