We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stopover At Rowton Hall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rowton Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Rowton Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Nice Stopover At Rowton Hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent 1 night at this charming hotel as we wanted to see the Xmas market at Chester. The Xmas market was disappointing to say the least although Chester itself is lovely. The hotel is very nice if a little dark in places. The food was good without being sensational and the service was enthusiastic rather than efficient except for in the bar where the staff were brilliant and effortlessly welcoming. The place is quite expensive for what they are offing as the evening meal proved. We were charged quite high prices for acceptable but ordinary food. We had to ask for the peppercorn sauce that was supposed to come with the meal for example.

A downside was the WiFi. Why don't the owners of these places see this as a necessity nowadays? Reception was patchy and the signal faded in and out as we were on the top floor. A log in was required which my windows tablet would not let connect (firewall or something) but the Ipad did. As usual the reception staff hadnt got a clue, although helpful and sympathetic.

If you are touring and using modern technology to help you find local points of interest, you need WiFi!!! Can hotel managers hear this please?

Room Tip: There are no lifts so avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review and we are glad that you had 'a nice stopover at Rowton Hall'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    114
    37
    23
    15
See reviews for
109
279
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. Had a perfect birthday treat. Staff very friendly and professional. Treatments and treatment rooms lovely. Highly recommend for that special treat or any time to chear up a winters day. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Happy Birthday, we are thrilled that you had the 'perfect birthday treat.'

Thank you for your lovely comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited Rowton Hall for a wedding. The venue is idyllic. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is spacious and well laid out. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area is really comfortable and great for cosy chats. The health club is well equipped. There is little to find fault with.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful comments.

We are delighted that you found 'The venue is idyllic. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is spacious and well laid out. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area is really comfortable and great for cosy chats. The health club is well equipped. There is little to find fault with.'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Rowton Hall turned out to be a real treat for a pre-Christmas getaway. A beautiful old house in lovely gardens and easy access (via the park and ride only 2 minutes away) into Chester. The staff were friendly and helpful, although an over-reliance on inexperienced youngsters meant that service in the spa and hotel was a little disorganised at times. But all in all a really good place to relax in the spa and bar and decent food in the restaurant.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your pre-Christmas getaway.

Thank you for your comment 'all in all a really good place to relax in the spa and bar and decent food in the restaurant'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights here, enjoying Chester and environs by day and spa and food by night.
The hotel is very good, from the traditional oak paneling in the halls, to the delicious food in the restaurant.
Very little needs changing, although there are some minor works which could be done (evidence of cracks etc in the spa area), and the music seemed to constantly be Michael Buble or Bruno Mars. Would also prefer harder pillows - but know my choice is odd compared to most people.
However, could not find fault with the food, room was very comfortable (pillow aside) and staff were very attentive and helpful wherever possible.
Really enjoyed the massages etc in the spa - and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 nights with us, 'enjoying Chester and environs by day and spa and food by night.'

We are glad that you found 'the hotel is very good, from the traditional oak paneling in the halls, to the delicious food in the restaurant.'

With regards to the pillows we can only apologise if you would have preferred a harder pillow, we do have a range of pillows available, if the reception team had been made aware of this during your stay we would have happily changed this for you. As for the music, we have a variety of albums available and I will certainly pass on your comments to ensure that the music is changed more frequently.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place for our wedding anniversary along with some beauty treatments for the wife. The spa & beauty treatments were lovely although the swimming pool & steam room could have done with a scrub!

Location was great just a shame it was full of oaps!!! Word of advice if you're young please stay away, you'll be extremely bored!

Dinner was fab so was breakfast although the lady who served us breakfast not so. She became a little annoyed when we enquiried what was for breakfast. "It's on the menu!" Was her response. Yet the menu was not on the table. We we requested 2 coffees, which arrived without any sugar. By the time they left us with the sugar our coffees had gone cold!

Oh and the boiler broke down which effected the radiator in our room for a short while however this was rectified in a short space of time.

Although this place has fantastic views, our room did not. All we could see was rooftops of the extention!!! The floorboards creaked literally the whole staircase!

Would I be coming again? Definitely definitely not till I turn 60 something, that's if I live that long!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review. We would like to say that as a venue we have a wide range of age groups that stay with us, from the young 20 something's to the young at heart. As a spa hotel we offer relaxation and tranquillity with our range of spa treatments and healthclub. For those wanting a more lively evening Chester is only 2.5 miles car ride way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place for our wedding anniversary along with some beauty treatments for the wife. The spa & beauty treatments were lovely although the swimming pool could have done with a scrub.

Location was great just a shame it was full of oaps!!! Word of advice if you're young please stay away, you'll be extremely bored!

Dinner was fab so was breakfast although the lady who served us breakfast not so. She became a little annoyed when we enquiried what was for breakfast. "It's on the menu!" Was her response. Yet the menu was not on the table. We we requested 2 coffees, which arrived without any sugar. By the time they left us with the sugar our coffees had gone cold!

Oh and the boiler broke down which effected the radiator in our room for a short while however this was rectified in a short space of time.

Although this place has fantastic views, our room did not. All we could see was rooftops of the extention!!! The floorboards creaked literally the whole staircase!

Would I be coming again? Definitely definitely not till I turn 60 something, that's if I live that long!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review. We would like to say that as a venue we have a wide range of age groups that stay with us, from the young 20 something's to the young at heart. As a spa hotel we offer relaxation and tranquillity with our range of spa treatments and healthclub. For those wanting a more lively evening Chester is only 2.5 miles car ride way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Rowton Hall Chester
Hall Hotel Rowton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowton Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.