We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carden Park Hotel to your Saves list
Carden Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carden Park, Chester CH3 9DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2 night xmas from £335pp
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good standard modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Carden Park is an attractively located modern hotel set in undulating Cheshire countryside. The rooms are of generous size, some located in the main building (better views from rooms at the front) and some in adjacent small blocks. The rooms tend to be isolated from any sounds. The two restaurants serve very acceptable food, but the prices for drinks are, as is usual in such hotels, high.
The pool is pleasant, but can become crowded during school holidays. Children are admitted at certain times only. The exercise facilities are usually fairly empty. Be aware that local residents have spa membership, and the facilities may see a rush after work.
The Cheshire golf course has a local membership, and many prefer it to the more prestigious Nicklaus course The latter is longer, and I personally enjoy it. But do not take a buggy if you can avoid it, as you have to stick to the pathways out on one side of the fairway, which is inconvenient and reduces your appreciation of the holes.
The hotel building would not rate for architectural splendour. Also be aware that the hotel has a very high volume of corporate business, mostly during the week, but some also at weekends.
If you get a good offer, it still represents value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and in the main building in case it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for writing your review as we appreciate your feedback. You mention the school holidays and we are always popular with families so we would recommend that you return outside of these times to experience Carden Park as it is normally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    462
    185
    94
    45
See reviews for
285
609
11
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We held our Submarine Flotilla annual Golf competition which is opened to serving and retired Submariners, in July. The courses were amazing and the use of Buggies a bonus for us older members. The hotel did us proud with the food and presentation evening and the breakfast was second to none. The staff were extremely helpful and the young man who attended to our cases and golf bag was a gem, he could not have been more helpful, in getting the car to the front and loading it for us (I was accompanied by my wife). The hotel also allowed us to support our chosen charity MND Barrow and assisted in helping with setting up etc. Overall the visit was fantastic with the added bonus of raising over £600 for our charity for this year

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Congratulations on raising over £600 for your charity. The team here really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review and we are delighted that you had a fantastic visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Carden Park is a quality hotel with fantastic facilities and 2 good golf courses. £115 for two rounds of golf, accommodation, dinner and breakfast is fantastic value. The food was fantastic, golf courses in good condition (especially the Nickolas course) and the weather was reasonable for the time of year. Staff were polite and efficient, drinks were expensive but that was to be expected. The only issue was the telly didn't work in our room but we were not in it long enough for that to be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It's good to learn that you found Carden Park to be a quality hotel with fantastic facilities and food. You had been very lucky with the weather, especially as you were here for the golf and we are pleased that you found both courses to be in good condition. We hope you mentioned the tv to us at the time and thank you for also mentioning that you found the staff polite and efficient. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanquhar scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful setting with excellent facilities, service was good and meals were fine. One thing these hotels need to resort to is breakfast being made to order, surely in a hotel of this quality you should not have to fight your way round a buffet and queue to make toast. Overall I did enjoy my visit one other little moan both the sauna and the steam room were out of order which is a pity as I was so looking forward to the sauna. All in all yes I would go back as I felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for writing and mentioning the hotel being in a beautiful setting with excellent facilities and good service. Certain items on our breakfast menu are made to order but we have noted that at the time of your stay the hotel had been busy with it being the half term school holidays. The sauna and steam room had been something out of our control but had been fixed quickly. We are delighted that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Carden Park and played golf and the experience was equally good on both occasions. Food very enjoyable and the facilities at the Golf Club House also very good. Parking is plentiful and near to rooms.

Room Tip: If you have the choice stay in the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are pleased that you have returned for a second visit and we would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding the golf, food and facilities at the golf clubhouse. We hope you will return for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Conference on Saturday 12th October 2013. Absolutely No hot water! Not even luke warm...totally freezing! Apparently this happens every 2 or 3 months....how can they accept this for a 'luxury' complex. Conference dinner very poor, Breakfast rubbery, room service very disappointing. Wont go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
As a guest attending a conference here the team will have contacted the organiser and we presume that you would have spoken to us during your stay as this is definitely not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent hotel and golf resort with excellent amenities, food and drink. The package of £115 for two rounds of golf, bed breakfast and a 3 course evening meal, was first class. Even the weather was kind. The staff were attentive, polite and charming. The only down side was the price of the drinks. Eye watering!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
It's very kind of you to write that you found the hotel excellent along with the amenities, food and drink. The team are pleased with their mention and you were lucky with the weather, especially being a golfer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carden Park Hotel

Address: Carden Park, Chester CH3 9DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#6 Business Hotel in Chester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carden Park Hotel Golf Resort and Spa - Located within 1000 acres of beautiful Cheshire countryside, Carden Park offers the perfect destination for both business and pleasure. Boasting 2 championship golf courses, the Nicklaus and the Cheshire plus all the golfing facilities any keen golfer could need including practice greens, driving range and Clubhouse with pro shop.Rosette awarded dining in Redmond's Restaurant offering a formal dining experience. Alternatively try The Vines, inspired by the onsite vineyard, enjoy informal dining with speciality dishes including local steaks and hanging kebabs. Additional dining venues include Jack's Bar in the Clubhouse, welcoming golfers and non-golfers and Morgan's bar, ideal for afternoon tea.Award winning Spa with 20 treatments areas and over 40 treatments of choice plus spa days and spa breaks using the highest quality products.196 stunning bedrooms, many with views over the golf course and Welsh hills beyond.Full conference facilities with a choice of 18 meeting rooms and additional activities onsite include jogging routes, tennis courts and children's playground. The onsite activities centre offers KONG aerial ropes course, Quad biking, segways, laser clay shooting, archery and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carden Park Chester
Hotel Carden Park
Carden Hotel Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carden Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.