We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf and spa day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carden Park Hotel to your Saves list
Carden Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carden Park, Chester CH3 9DQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2 night xmas from £335pp
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Chester
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great golf and spa day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

6 of us went to Carden Park on Friday, 16th Sept 2012. Lads playing golf, ladies going to the spa. Golf course was great, only fault was no food available. You can usually get a bacon sarnie and a hot drink part way round the course, however, the hotel was having some problems with the kitchen and nothing was available apart from Mars Bars!!!

Ladies eventually enjoyed the spa. They did have a few hiccups but these were sorted out. Lunch took a long time (again I think problems with the kitchen). The ladies has pre-ordered lunch, but it still took nearly 40 minutes to arrive, one of the dishes arrived cold, and therefore a further delay until a fresh meal was made. This did mean the ladies were late for the 2nd half of the treatments they had booked, however the staff in the spa did a great job to accomodate this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review following your golf and spa visit. We are not sure what happened with regards to food as we offer a light menu within the Clubhouse, the Lounge and the Vines.
We are pleased that overall the ladies enjoyed their spa day and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    461
    185
    94
    45
See reviews for
285
608
11
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group of about 17 of us. Parking isnt clear but there is plenty of spaces and its easy enough to move again once checked in.
Conference/meeting room facilities and catering were excellent.
Courtyard room was extremely large, well equipped and comfortable. Bonus in my room was a little balcony although not all have these. Towels could have been nicer. Agree with other comments that it is a bit of a pain having to walk over to the main hotel but didnt affect my stay.
Spa was wonderful though quite busy with children and non residents. Others used the gym and said the facilities were ok.
We also experienced some of the outdoor activities which were well organised and good fun - highly recommend.
The only reason this place doesnt get 5 stars is because the restaurant let it down. The service was extremely slow and considering that this is not a travelodge I would expect much better qualified staff. I asked for a medium rare lamb dinner. Everyone else wanted medium but when they brought them all out they all had medium. I advised the waitress that it should be medium rare and her response was oh well it must be that one, put it down and walked off. If I hadnt been in such a large group and having waited so long I would have demanded it went back. At breakfast, in the same restaurant there was a debate/row between two members of staff in the public area - extremely unprofessional.

Saying all that I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet and large if you dont mind having to walk two minutes to the hotel. I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for writing your review as we are pleased that you found something for everyone here at Carden. We have noted all your feedback which we appreciate so thank you for writing and we do hope that you will return as a leisure guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here overnight after a friends wedding reception. As this hotel is the usual part of a large chain they are usually predictable and this was no different.
It has an annoying drive up to the building over numerous speed humps, the place is so big and there are no clear signs as to where to park.
The interior is modern and clean and is rather pleasant , however it is nothing out of the ordinary and gives nothing of a quality feel.

The rooms are bland, again very predictable but I have to say not as nice as even the Barcelo Chain rooms (which I would say are older) . The bathroom was old fashioned and cheap looking.
I did not sleep properly over night as some nearby residents felt it necessary to shout in the corridors , then in the early hours screaming children were allowed to run up and down the corridors.

The breakfast room was huge and very busy, again predictable set up, but this hotel is just far too big, too many people dashing about and no atmosphere at all. It is very similar to one of the foreign all inclusive holiday resorts. Food was fine.

The concierge man was very pleasant and polite but the rest of the staff looked bored , also the majority of the staff in the breakfast room and roomkeeping were foreign.

This is a satisfactory clean place to stay overnight if you get a reduced rate but definately not worth the standard cost!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We have noted your comments regarding your overnight stay whilst celebrating your friend's wedding. We feel that Carden Park offers a number of unique features so we are sorry to learn of your disappointment and do hope that you enjoyed the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although this is a golfing resort, you don't have to be a golfer to stay. It has a great spa, lovely grounds and very nice accomodation.
We ate in the brasserie inthe evening which was very good.
All the staff we met throughout the hotel were attentive and friendly which made for an enjoyable stay.
We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: There are "Apartment" type rooms at the back of the hotel rather like a mini village. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It's great to learn that you will definitely stay again if you are in the area. We do appreciate your comments regarding the spa, the grounds and accommodation. We do aim to please, so thank you for also mentioning the team here at Carden as we are all delighted that you had an enjoyable time and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My daughter and I went for the weekend, it was perfect. We eat in The Vines on the first night, the food was really good quality and not to expensive, I would recomend the ribeye steak, it was cooked just perfect. They have a fab spa and pool and also outdoor activities, my daughter talked me into doing the quad-biking and segway's it was great. There was also a golf cause and the setting and grounds were amazing, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. We also went shopping at Cheshire Oakes which was less than 30min away. We had a great weekend and we are already planning our next stay, truly a fabulous hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the golf cause
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
How lovely to learn that you and your Daughter had a truly fabulous stay. It's good to learn that you found dinner to be really good quality and that you both experienced the quad biking and Segway's as they are such good fun. For retail therapy we are ideally located for Cheshire Oaks so thank you for mentioning this and for writing your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel because I had been recommended by a friend to stay there. There were 10 of us for my hen do, I didn't want a rowdy hen do, just a nice relaxing break and it was perfect. The evening meal in the vines was lovely and not too expensive. The spa facilities were great, everyone had a relaxing time in the jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and pool. The bedrooms had 2 double beds and were very clean and spacious with lovely views. I will definitely be going back with my husband and will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for stating that you found Carden Park to be one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in. We appreciate you taking the time to write following your pre wedding celebrations and we too hope you will return with your Husband - Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed the break, hotel comfortable.
We stayed in a Courtyard room which was a very nice, large room. The drawback was that you had to walk outside to get to the spa or the restaurant. Need a coat etc to go for meals. Luckily it didn't rain.
Breakfast and dinner was very good, a choice of two restaurants. We ate in the Vines and were happy with the quality and choice of food.
Drawback was that the hotel is 30 mins drive to Chester. We loved the city, lots to see and do.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are separate from hotel building. Depending on your room number, could be 5 mins wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your two night break and found the hotel comfortable. Thank you for mentioning your room and that you were happy with the quality and choice of food, both for breakfast and dinner in the Vines. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carden Park Hotel

Address: Carden Park, Chester CH3 9DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#6 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carden Park Hotel Golf Resort and Spa - Located within 1000 acres of beautiful Cheshire countryside, Carden Park offers the perfect destination for both business and pleasure. Boasting 2 championship golf courses, the Nicklaus and the Cheshire plus all the golfing facilities any keen golfer could need including practice greens, driving range and Clubhouse with pro shop.Rosette awarded dining in Redmond's Restaurant offering a formal dining experience. Alternatively try The Vines, inspired by the onsite vineyard, enjoy informal dining with speciality dishes including local steaks and hanging kebabs. Additional dining venues include Jack's Bar in the Clubhouse, welcoming golfers and non-golfers and Morgan's bar, ideal for afternoon tea.Award winning Spa with 20 treatments areas and over 40 treatments of choice plus spa days and spa breaks using the highest quality products.196 stunning bedrooms, many with views over the golf course and Welsh hills beyond.Full conference facilities with a choice of 18 meeting rooms and additional activities onsite include jogging routes, tennis courts and children's playground. The onsite activities centre offers KONG aerial ropes course, Quad biking, segways, laser clay shooting, archery and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carden Park Chester
Hotel Carden Park
Carden Hotel Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carden Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.