We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Chester to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Chester
74 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Pwllheli
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

good place for the value of money,staff very friendly.

Room Tip: very clean,comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    26
    19
    30
See reviews for
10
35
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here one night on travelling to Wales. Biggest mistake of my life - place was dirty and staff uninterested. A horrrible smell throughout the place, bedding was holed and I have thrown better away. The shower was illegal and spat out boiling steam no PAC test certificate on either shower or cable - lights had no bulbs, tv didnt work and nearly fell off wall. carpets threadbare and dirty - saving grace we didnt book breakfast as I wouldnt have ate it. £112.00 pn was advertised rate wouldnt pay £10.00 a night to stay here in fact sleeping in the car seemed luxury compared to this place. As part of a group even budget hotels should have some standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Clean and basic but the rooms were absoluely stifling. Tiny little transom window in our room, no air con and a very humid night. Breakfast £5.00 extra if you want to pay that for cereal and a cuppa then that,s fine

Room Tip: bring a fan with you if in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

As a seasoned 'traveller' who has stayed in a number of city centre hotels throughout the UK it true to say that you very much get what you pay for.
So, on paying a bargain basement price for B & B at this convenient little establishment so as to facilitate a boys jaunt into Chester last Saturday, it was only fair to expect basic facilities - OK, 12 men aged between 40-50 and six double beds...not ideal, but hot water and clean towels, could one ask for more??!!
Errr....yes!!!
The receptionist for the day exuded a level of charm that I haven't experienced in many a year. With an easy manner (similar to that of Rosa Klebb, the 'highly attractive' KGB agent from Bond days past) and a balanced attitude that confirmed that there were indeed chips not only on the crockery but also on both shoulders, I do believe that HR should conduct staff training post haste.
So, cheap n cheerful at best - but don't 'cross' reception - toxic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night as we needed a place that accepted pets. Hotel looked impressive from photograph, however that was as good as it got. Receptionist was efficient but lacked any warmth and we were banished to an outhouse to the rear of the hotel surrounded by an overgrown garden and dilapidated sheds.

Our building had a peculiar smell of decay which continued into our bedroom. Tv was dated and overall level of cleanliness was as poor as i have experienced. Along skirtings was about 2cm of dirt and cobwebs were hanging from walls and ceiling. Didn't look as if it had been cleaned in years. Bathroom was slighly better, however one panel of the shower enclosure was missing only to be replaced with a dirty shower curtain. We had dirty blanket as our quilts. Only positive note was that the bed was comfortable and we had hot water next morning.

Don't come here if its a special occasion and bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Noise from other rooms was irritating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

the room we stayed in was filthy blood all over walls chair and lightshades the bathroom was awful and we decided to wait until we got home for a shower. Would not stay here again if it was free-don't mind basic but do not like filth

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

13 of us, in 6 rooms, chose this hotel as there were connecting rooms for the children. Walls paper thin - woken v early by neighbour coughing badly. Socket and trouser press hanging of the wall. Bathrooms diabolical - don't think the grout has ever seen bleach - it was black. When using the shower you had to dodge to catch the drips. 1 double room only had a 4Ft bed! Breakfast - 3 ants wandering around inside the fruit bowl!! Threadbare carpets on the stairs - in need of a major overhaul - management told us it is due to be done just don't know when - avoid until it is done would be my recommendation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Chester

Address: 74 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Comfort Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.