We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Hen Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commercial Bar & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 hotels in Chester
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Hen Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a lovely little hotel. Due to a previous negative experience I had in a small hotel like this, I was a bit nervous upon booking. However, I have nothing but good words to say about them. From booking until we departed, everyone was wonderful. I was part of a one-night hen do and it was really special for all of us. The rooms were really well decorated and the Byron Suite where I stayed was amazing. I only wish we were able to stay more than one night! The only complaint I heard from the ladies was that the rooms were a bit dark/not well lit.

We were made aware in advance of the loud disco so that was not a surprise. What was a surprise was that it was the most happening place in Chester! We went to Revolution which was pretty dead that night and thought we'd head back to our hotel to see how the scene there was. It was really hopping- every bar filled and great music/vibe. I didn't personally make it to breakfast the next morning but the ladies who did said the food was great.

I would also recommend the cocktail making class if you are looking for something fun to do with a group. We had a blast and the bartender was great! Perfect venue/hotel for a small hen party like ours. The access doors to upstairs rooms were locked so we felt safe and we were well looked after. I'm already looking at booking to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Wow, thank you for such a great review and I'm so glad you managed to squeeze in so many activities during your stay in Chester.
The cocktail barman said he had a really good master class with you all so it's nice to hear it was a great start to your night out. As you know, our cocktail bar takes on a real house party feel in the evenings with our DJ's so thank you for coming back and enjoying the night with us - especially when you can just go upstairs to bed and not have to tackle this wintry weather and taxi queue!
Please do not hesitate to contact us again for your next weekend away.
Kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    42
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
9
95
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the night at commercial. The staff were exceptionally helpfull. The owner Rebecca should be proud of all her staff and what she has achieved. A stunning olde worlde beautiful hotel with 5 star rooms that are beautifully decorated. The bed we had was A1 for comfort. We stayed in wordsworth and I can highly recommend to anybody looking for a comfortable and welcoming break . Breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for your lovely review.
I am very proud of all my staff and it's great for me to hear that their service was recognised, I will pass on your comments on to the bar staff and breakfast chef.
The rooms I feel are well presented and all beds carry a Tempur mattress for comfort.
Thank you for choosing The Commercial for your stay and we look forward to accommodating you another time.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've just come back from a few days' stay at the commercial. We stayed in the Byron suite with our three children. It was fantastic as the children could stay in the lounge, which was a separate room, so we had our own bedroom.

The location was perfect, right in the town centre, and the staff were so welcoming it felt like home. The room and bathroom were very clean, the bath and shower were huge. It's a perfect base for a family.

We stayed from Sunday to Tuesday night - there is a bar under the room which is open on fri and Saturday nights so it would not be good for a family to stay then. But on other days I would recommend the hotel as a great base for a stay in chester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Naomi, Thank you for taking time out to write your review.
It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us and have the time to experience Chester and the many wonderful attractions we have to offer.
The Byron suite is ideal for families and I trust you andyours will stay again on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night on the 12th October with my husband as a 'treat' from work. It had been my birthday earlier in the week so the 'night away' was planned to coincide with this. On arrival the staff could not be more helpful and the very lovely Charlotte took us up to our room. We stayed in the Byron Suite which I can only describe as 'wow'. The bathroom is amazing and the whole suite is stunning. We were meeting family for drinks during the day and into the early evening and then out for a meal later on. On arrival back at the hotel and following a couple of drinks we made our way back to our room and although the noise from the courtyard and early morning party people could be heard it by no way spoilt my sleep (which probably had something to do with the very comfy bed and not the copius amounts of alcohol I had consumed). The following morning we made our way down for breakfast (lovely) and again Charlotte was there to look after us (She is a star although all the staff seemed extremely helpful). The hotel is in a great location and definately worth a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay for your birthday celebrations and the staff were attentive. I will certainly pass your comments onto Charlotte.
The Byron Suite is a lovely room and I'm happy to know that the facilities were "wow" as you describe.
I trust we will see you again and look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've been staying at the Commercial for 3 years now - we descend on Chester every October in a group of about 20 blokes selling tools and everybody wants to be on the short list that can stay here. Sadly there's only five rooms so there's many disapointed faces.

The nightlife at the Commercial is fantastic, from Drum and Bass nights to Comedy - this week there was even an acoustic rendition of Blackstreet's "No Diggity". You probably won't want to leave the hotel, but if you do then you're in luck as it's right in the centre of the action. Town House (Lounge Bar) and Tropiero (Brazillian Restaurant) are only a short walk away.

Down-sides:-
No immediate parking but well worth a short walk.
Up-sides:-
Don't expect to get to sleep before 1pm!

Keep up the good work and see you all next year.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Byron - Although the Wi-Fi doesn't reach there the creature comforts are brill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Joe, thank you for taking time to write your review - it's only taken 3 years ha ha!
It was a pleasure as always to accommodate you and your colleagues once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a very professional and friendly booking meeting with the manageress earlier in the month, we were delighted with the outcome of our Hen Party evening on the 28th September 2013. Being aware that it was a races weekend and things would be very busy the staff at The Commercial pulled out all the stops to make sure our evening was what we ordered and more...........a great end to our day at The Races!!! Thank you so much to everybody who was involved, especially our very patient 'minion' (her choice of title). She worked so hard to make the evening a success.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sue, thank you for your review.
It's lovely to hear that you and the girls enjoyed your day and that you all had a great day in Chester. Although it was a very busy day for us, I'm glad to know that The Commercial were part of a very special occasion for you, your friends and family.
I will pass on your well wishes to Hannah - The Minion! and I hope that will see you all again soon.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the better bars in Chester, but when it's nearest competition is The Victoria, Amber Lounge and Rosies this isn't saying too much! Chester is overpriced, everyone knows that, and things are no different here. Beer selection is good, however it's not uncommon for ales to be kept beyond their best which is reflected in the taste. I suppose the average customer here isn't that bothered with real ale, but if it's offered it should really be in good nick. This being said, a good night is usually guaranteed here. The music selection is good, aside from some questionable mixing from the DJs but at 1 in the morning no one's that bothered. Door staff can be objectionable at times but are usually reasonable. All in all I would recommend it to those after a good night out, but in my opinion is a few steps behind the quality of places like Telford's Warehouse, Alexanders, Church or The Cellar.

What does annoy me is the manageress' compulsive need to reply to certain negative comments by saying 'we're one of the busiest bars in Chester' and 'there's no pleasing everyone'. What's the point? She's obviously very proud of the bar, but comments like these are a little childish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear reviewer. Although your review if full of back handed comments I will take this as a positive. Thank you for making The Commercial your very first review. Best wishes Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commercial Bar & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.