We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Party night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commercial Bar & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Chester
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hen Party night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a very professional and friendly booking meeting with the manageress earlier in the month, we were delighted with the outcome of our Hen Party evening on the 28th September 2013. Being aware that it was a races weekend and things would be very busy the staff at The Commercial pulled out all the stops to make sure our evening was what we ordered and more...........a great end to our day at The Races!!! Thank you so much to everybody who was involved, especially our very patient 'minion' (her choice of title). She worked so hard to make the evening a success.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sue, thank you for your review.
It's lovely to hear that you and the girls enjoyed your day and that you all had a great day in Chester. Although it was a very busy day for us, I'm glad to know that The Commercial were part of a very special occasion for you, your friends and family.
I will pass on your well wishes to Hannah - The Minion! and I hope that will see you all again soon.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    41
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
9
94
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the better bars in Chester, but when it's nearest competition is The Victoria, Amber Lounge and Rosies this isn't saying too much! Chester is overpriced, everyone knows that, and things are no different here. Beer selection is good, however it's not uncommon for ales to be kept beyond their best which is reflected in the taste. I suppose the average customer here isn't that bothered with real ale, but if it's offered it should really be in good nick. This being said, a good night is usually guaranteed here. The music selection is good, aside from some questionable mixing from the DJs but at 1 in the morning no one's that bothered. Door staff can be objectionable at times but are usually reasonable. All in all I would recommend it to those after a good night out, but in my opinion is a few steps behind the quality of places like Telford's Warehouse, Alexanders, Church or The Cellar.

What does annoy me is the manageress' compulsive need to reply to certain negative comments by saying 'we're one of the busiest bars in Chester' and 'there's no pleasing everyone'. What's the point? She's obviously very proud of the bar, but comments like these are a little childish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear reviewer. Although your review if full of back handed comments I will take this as a positive. Thank you for making The Commercial your very first review. Best wishes Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely, informal hotel located in a unique position in the centre of Chester. The room was spotless and spacious. Hannah is a credit to the hotel; she made us extremely welcome and worked tremendously hard. We knew about the noise from the courtyard and bar as the hotel had the courtesy to phone in advance to explain and give us the chance to cancel. However, we joined in with the party atmosphere and still slept well! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to write. I have passed your praise onto Hannah and the housekeeping staff.
I hope the next time you are in Chester The Commercial will be considered again.
Kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed last night, hotel had charm as well as an event going on. it is in tge heart of Chester which is a beautiful City. I am biased as I used to go to the college back in 1988! The staff were excellent especially the lovely Rebecca. Nothing was too much trouble and I would go back there again. Corporate it is not but charming and location and staff wise excellent. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear David, thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
I trust your business trip was successful and we look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit. 2nd floor room next time though!
Best wishes Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked a function room and buffet at the Commercial for a 40 years reunion for ex-students from Chester University on a Saturday evening. Initially we only thought that about 15 to 20 max would be attending, however 3 days before the reunion, this number had risen to about 30. I spoke to Rebecca (manager) and she reserved a second room just for our party - despite having 2 other parties in the hotel that evening. By the Saturday morning our number had risen to 35, so we arranged to supply additional food for the evening which Rebecca served (at no extra cost). On the evening itself everything worked perfectly and all the guests commented on how good the evening went. The staff were also very friendly and efficient and exhibited a real team spirit. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will use it for subsequent events eg next year. Thank you to Rebecca and team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear David, thank you for your review which was totally unexpected.
Apart from being a hotel as the name suggests, we are so much more..... and catering for events such as yours is one of those things.
You certainly caught us on a busy night which, along with your party, the staff enjoyed too.
I'm really glad we were able to accommodate you and your guests and look forward to your next event.
Kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday in the Bryon suite. It was a lovely surprise as the suite was perfect with an amazing bathroom which had a rolltop bath and his and her sinks. The sitting room had a large ornate fireplace and was perfect for relaxing in after a long days shopping. The hotel is right in the centre of the city which is great in the evening, as no need for a taxi anyway, all restaurants and bars are in walking distance from the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I can't recommend this hotel enough for a perfect stay in Chester.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Paul, thank you for such a great review.
It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was satisfactory. The Byron Suite is a lovely room and we are very lucky to be so central for shopping and restaurants.
I will pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Kindest regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms in the hotel are one of the best I've stayed in, exceptional clean rooms, bathrooms are large and again spotlessly clean. They are furnished to a high standard. The staff are so friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. Breakfast was great and of good quality we had the full English which I can highly reconmmend.


Yes there is noise, we took ear plugs which seemed to do the trick, but its in the centre of town, near to the race course & bars so you have to expect some noise, so it didn't bother us, the staff are a credit to the hotel a big thank you for a pleasant stay and we would stay with you again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you came prepared for the noise with your earplugs! I will pass on your comments to the staff, they are a credit and we all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commercial Bar & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.