We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory's Smokehouse

Hickory's Smokehouse
The Groves | Souters Lane, Chester CH1 1SH, England
01244 404000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hickory's Smokehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 454 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ribs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Has to be the best ribs in Chetser cooked and served off the coals. great location next to the river.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    385
    128
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW WOWEE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wonderful, pulled pork just melted in my mouth, the atmosphere is awesome & it's an amazing experience from start to finish, will defo come back here the next time I visit lovely Chester.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First visit and will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Not sure what all the hype is about?

The food was of poor quality and ribs were still on the pink side.

We sat at the 'chef's table' which confirmed to us that it was fast food at premium prices and non of it being home made but pre packed in a warming oven ready to open the packet and serve!

And as for the toilets - filthy, vile and smelly.

Couldn't wait to get out if here and you got it- will not be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Called in for lunch, first time at this restaurant. So may just have ordered the wrong thing, ordered brisket which came on a skillet with barbecue sauce, thought a small portion of brisket for the price and was quite fatty. Fries were nice as was the coleslaw. Service was good, was an issue with my wife's dish was resolved immediately by the waitress. Lovely setting on the banks of the Dee

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Looks good, very popular but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Maybe we've been spoilt by our visits to the US and experiencing the real thing, but we found Hickory's underwhelming.
We passed the restaurant earlier in the day and it was very busy, so we thought we'd return in the evening and give it a shot. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. We had drinks at the bar while waiting for a table which become available in about the time they said. Nice table by the window overlooking the river, got our popcorn and water while we reviewed the menu. All good so far.... it's just that when the food arrived it was just so bland... the special bbq sauce was only ok.
I guess just not for us, but I can see why others rate it so highly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.