We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory's Smokehouse

Hickory's Smokehouse
The Groves | Souters Lane, Chester CH1 1SH, England
01244 404000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hickory's Smokehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 409 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Altrincham, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited on Friday with a group of friends on a weekend away. Booked based on Tripadvisor reviews. We booked "the high table overlooking the river" and I would say it was possibly the best table in the place.

Tried cocktails at the bar before the meal which went down a treat! A couple of the meals ordered (both the same), were a bit of a disappointment but after a word with the manager, they were replaced without question and removed from the bill (along with their alternative). All in all, the food was really tasty and along with the the atmosphere and surroundings, quite authentic American.

Think Chester has a little gem in Hickory's Smokehouse and will definitely recommend and revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    332
    114
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you love meat, you with love Hickory's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wow, we had been told great things about this place and after taking my fiancée there for her birthday we didn't leave disappointed, we left ready to explode due to having eyes bigger than our bellies, when will we ever learn.

The quality of the food is amazing, the pulled pork was a favourite, as was the burger I had for my main (see below), I felt like man vs food ... man won.

I can't wait to go here again, there are offers during the week, so for those who are looking for a deal, this maybe an option. Its a place I have walked past many times, there really are some great places to eat in Chester.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food in a lively venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our first visit after reading the reviews on TA. Had to book well in advance to gate a table at a reasonable time. The food was of a high standard and having been to the states on a few occasions was pretty close to the real thing. The service was quick, friendly and efficient. It would have received 5 stars but for somewhat overly priced wine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not all it was cracked up to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a hard place to review. I have attempted to visit them twice before but both time have been put off by a wait for over an hour to get a table.
On this visit I was seated on the food bar right next to the kitchen and I have to say I would be in a hurry to sit there again. It is not the most pleasant place to have a chef getting rather angry at servers to put out plates when they are all busy serving customers.
The food was ok. The burger I had was a little dry and the pulled pork tasted a bit bland.
The entire meal lacked that American BBQ feel. The food wasn't the melt in your mouth type quality you would get in the states and they just seem to be missing the mark in running a kitchen like a kitchen rather than a BBQ.
I like the smell of smoke round a BBQ.
The member of staff I had was nice but service on the whole was slow and haphazard.
This place has gained a reputation that is completely earned and is busy because of it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A real American experience , recommend by the park and ride bus driver. The atmosphere is fabulous, we had not book and were told it would be about 90 minutes. However, 10 minutes in two places came available on the chef table which is basically an area with high chairs around the kitchen area. Brilliant place to eat. The service by the staff was fantastic, the food was out of this world and matched that we had in Manhatten. The Rump steak was cooked to perfection. Prices are a little on the high side however you get what you pay for and it is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.