We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warehouse public house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telford's Warehouse

Telford's Warehouse
Canal Basin | Tower Wharf, Chester CH1 4EZ, England
01244-39-00-90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 390 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Warehouse public house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Sat in the restaurant upstairs, the food was good but a little pricy. however they do have a very good range of food with smaller appetite options. Very good range of guest beers. The downstairs bar has a really good atmosphere it is after all a converted warehouse at the side of the canal basin with huge windows overlooking the basin. Quite a large seating area outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    63
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I've lived opposite Telfords for a year and can't believe I've never Been for food! I had the fish and chips and my friend had the veggie bean burger. They were big portions and very nice too! The staff are laid back and friendly but still very helpful. I'm definitely going back as the menu is gorgeous and need to work my way through it! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Brilliant food to match the perfect pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've visited Telford's many times over the years, often simply for their brilliantly kept selection of cask ales, but also many times to eat and can honestly say we've never had a less than excellent meal. On this occasion my wife had run the 'Race For Live' on Chester Racecourse and Sunday lunch at Telford's seemed the prefect reward.

Having enjoyed a wonderful pint in the bar area we moved upstairs to the restaurant and ordered our meals. Service as always is informal and friendly and in a move most other venues would do well to copy, they bring a jug of iced water and glasses to the table, without being asked and without charge.

On this occasion between 4 we enjoyed a perfectly prepared and cooker Sirloin Steak, a beautifully pink and tender rump of Lamb, a succulent roast Ribeye with full Sunday lunch trimmings and a wonderful Pork belly with the most scrumptious sweet potato and black pudding rosti imaginable.

Sadly none of us had room for desert from the very tempting list.

Service was a tad slower than usual, but as it was Sunday lunchtime peak with everything being freshly prepared and beautifully presented it was well worth waiting for and did not detract from an very special Sunday lunch experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great venue, matched by the food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday and was very pleasantly surprised by the venue. Situated close to the centre of chester on the canalside. Wide selection of real ales and beers both bottled and draft. Excellent selection of food all cooked to order and all very tasty. Highly recommended on all levels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had lovely lunch - fantastic homemade burgers - very tasty. Really recommend it - nice setting, great food and good staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telford's Warehouse also viewed

 

Been to Telford's Warehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telford's Warehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.