We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful and very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ormonde

The Ormonde
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ormonde to your Saves list
The Ormonde
126 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This guest house has recently changed hands and is undergoing a much needed facelift, a fact which was made clear to us before we booked. That said, the room, bedding and towels were spotlessly clean, and, although we arrived very late (after 10pm) the manager could not do enough to make us feel welcome. Allright the decor was very dated, and no, the bedding, wallpaper and carpet didn't match, but, for £15 per person we all got a clean and very comfortable bed, clean towels, a good hot shower and unlimited tea/coffee. In the morning we all had a delicious, hearty cooked breakfast for just £4 each. Absolute bargain! You get what you pay for, and this place definately gives good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    8
    6
    21
See reviews for
6
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This guest house is probably the dirtiest place I have ever come across in all my travelling and to top it off the security alarm went off continually during the night which meant no sleep was achieved. After complaining about this and having to move to another accomodation the manager agreed to provide a refund but then when speaking to the owner the following day he was agressive and declined the previously agreed offer.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We found it cheerfull basic accomodation. Good homecooked food .warm hospitality. Fantasic location. Will visit again .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

the room was awful. stains on the wallpaper looked like someone had thrown a cup of coffee at the wall. the area over the bed was filthy, the light was a strip light you would find in a factory. no toiletries, not even a small block of soap. tiles in shower was full of mould, the shower head trickled out water with a big drip that you couldnt get under as the head was screwed to the wall. the plug socket was so broken i am sure it was dangerous. the green carpet did not match the brown bedding, the pillow case was stained with bleach. during the night a customer came in to his room above us and snored all night, ok, my husband snores but you dont expect to hear him in a hotel room above my head. the customer got up at 6.30 and we thought he was in our room it was so loud, not his fault but the hotels for not having proper flooring so guest on the ground floor cannot hear every movement people above are making. breakfast was ok. all in all not what you expect for 50 pounds.

Room Tip: ask for one on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Belgrave is the right place to stay in Chester, It's cheap and affordable and very good amenities. Room has almost all the facilities. It's also near by Chester Railway Station, and city centre is walking from this place. A Owner of the hotel is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

If you are a traveller interested only in a decent night's sleep, somewhere convenient to lay your head, at a very reasonable price, this is the place for you. It is no frills and would not suit anyone fussy looking for luxurious surroundings or opulent decor. The owners are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ormonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormonde

Address: 126 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ormonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ormonde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.