We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service. Fabulous location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Chester to your Saves list
Abode Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful service. Fabulous location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Visiting Chester with 82 year old mother, staff couldn't have been more helpful. Fabulous location -5 minutes to centre of Chester. Cocktail bar - fabulous view - lovely cocktails overlooking roodeee race course.
Breakfast delicious. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    328
    119
    30
    26
See reviews for
64
612
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Abode and enjoyed the experience very much. A modern hotel situated in a great location, overlooking the race course and easy walking distance from the historic centre, shops, restaurants, etc. Comfortable room with good views and all modern facilities - a comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Enjoyed dinner in both restaurants and service very good. A great bonus, particularly for the business person, is the secure parking underneath the hotel. This hotel would suit both the business person and holiday-maker.

Room Tip: Book early during race days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I ran a one day business meeting at the Abode this week and we had to make a meeting room change the evening before the event. Even though it was late, the staff were very cheerful and flexible as we sorted things out. The food was excellent and, throughout our stay, service was excellent. My room was comfortable and I slept very well. Wifi was free with very good coverage through the hotel.

The only reason for the 4/5 rating is that the Paddock Meeting Room was offered for a meeting of 14 and it was really too small for the purpose - hence the late move. Also hotel parking for our meeting delegates was very limited in the basement car park.

I really can't rate the staff highly enough though - 6/5!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with friends,on a Saturday night. Great underground car park, although did park in someone's office space and then had a little drive around to find an available hotel space. Quick and efficient check in, we had booked 2 double comfort rooms, and has to be the best night's sleep I have had in any hotel-ever!! Rooms were spotless with everything we needed, down side if I had to pick one, no fridge! We decided to eat in the cafe bar and grill as it was less formal. Not a huge menu choice however what we had was excellent. Staff very friendly and professional. We did try to book a table for 7.30pm however that could not be accommodated and had to settle for 6.30pm, we thought that the restaurant would be full as couldn't get a 7.30pm sitting. This was not the case so I assume it was to make sure the chefs could cope. The bar for after dinner drinks was very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that-we walked into the city centre to eat as it's only a short walk. We will definitely be staying here again I am sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

very good hotel, staff were very friendly, room was really nice and clean. the shower was ok but it leaked on the floor not a great design to be honest. the bed was too soft for my liking but thats just my preference. would stay at this hotel again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel offers indoor parking but the design of the car park is a complete mess. The corners are too tight to take comfortably and it's not clear at all where you can and can't park.

My room was pretty sub-standard for the price paid - whilst not awful, I've stayed in better rooms that have cost half the price. The heating system didn't work properly, meaning one half of the room was like a sauna and the other like an igloo, and the mattress was very soft, leading to a rather uncomfortable night's sleep. We had also paid a premium for a room with a balcony only to discover that the balcony door didn't open anyway.

The restaurant staff are nice, but in a way, this makes it worse as you'll constantly be avoiding eye contact to cover up what you really feel about the establishment. When booking, we were curtly told that we'd need to be in and out in 2 hours as they were very busy and needed the tables to turnover quickly. Why, then, it took them 3 hours to serve a three course meal when the restaurant was half full is beyond me. The food and drink quality was very hit and miss but, on the whole, was poorly seasoned with far too much salt. In particular, the fries were salted beyond the point of edible and had to be sent back. Oh, and our table wasn't even clean.

In case you're wondering why we didn't complain at the time, we did - only to be greeted with an eye-rolling receptionist and a manager who started the conversation by telling us he "only had two minutes"....Words fail me.

In fairness, we were eventually offered a partial refund to make up for not getting the room we had paid for but the whole experience has put me off this hotel forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is very well located for Chester centre and enjoyable walks around the town. The view from our room was mainly of the road rather than the racecourse but other rooms clearly have better views. We booked two rooms - one a "comfortable" room and the other a "desirable" room. They were both good quality rooms but they were the same except the more expensive room had a small balcony which in early February was not very beneficial - oh, and we also had a extra bottle of body cream. It was not worth the extra money for the "desirable" room. The "comfortable" room was more than adequate. The highlight of the stay was the Michael Caine champagne bar and restaurant. We went a la carte and the food was very enjoyable although the wait between courses a little longer than ideal and the wrong side dish was provided and couldn't be rectified - not sure why but they didn't charge for it so that was fair. Breakfast was also very good although another slight problem with the service and one cooked breakfast arrived a full ten minutes before the others - very apologetic but not sure what happened, We would stay there again and probably request a better located room next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.