We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room & lovely short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Save Saved
You added Abode Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 hotels in Chester
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room & lovely short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I live just outside of Chester so this hotel would not have been my first choice of hotel but as I had won the short stay & meal in a competition it would have been rude not to. Receptionist was very welcoming, room was amazing very modern and views of the racecourse. Evening meal was defiantly quality produce not quantity. Really enjoyed the ambiance and feel of the place. Breakfast was silver service and again lovely. I would not liked to have picked up the bill in the morning TBH as was £400+
On our anniversary we return here but as it is ridiculously expensive just stayed for drinks, where in the Champagne lounge they have a 10% service charge on your bill. Nice & relaxing though if that's what you like.

Room Tip: Overlooking the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    255
    84
    23
    20
See reviews for
47
478
15
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Quite a simple and easy review.
Pros: Clean, tidy, well equipped, modern and polite precise receptionist.
Cons: Noisy bar above (bottles being thrown in bin), faulty aircon.(reported)

Stay again? Yes
Recommend? Yes

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the Abode on NewYear eve. It was an over night stay, as we had book the gala dinner in the the Michael Canes restaurant. The evening was excellent, the food was lovely, and there was an great band playing 80s music. We stayed in the enviable room in which was very modern and spacious. On the down side. When we check in. We asked for a float deposit. I did not mind so I just left £50. And throughout the evening my husband went to the bar to buy drinks and was refused because the float had run out. "He was most up set" . Because we had payed for the room and meal up front. So he at to leave the celabrations and go down to reception and give then another £100. So we could have a tab on the bar. The drinks are very pricey .

Room Tip: Enviable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband, daughter and I had a very pleasant stay over the Christmas period - HOWEVER my husband and I particularly were very disappointed to find we could not READ our books and newspapers. I do appreciate that many people have Ipads, phones etc to do some reading but for many people there are still books and newspapers to enjoy reading in bed. The lighting was very stylish but produced "no light"! It was very subdued and eco friendly but not pleasant. I do hope that the Abode can correct this absurd state of affairs. The rooms were lovely and no complaint at all for any other aspect of our stay but we would not return in future due to this one negative. Many people go to a hotel to relax in their rooms as well as visiting local sights and friends/relations.

Room Tip: Ask about reading lights if you are interested in reading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is amazing! The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautiful. The breakfast had a gourmet menu with delicious options and a very fancy environmennt. The staff was very polite and charismatic. They were always available to help with anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for NYE 2013 and chose the abode as a special treat to end the year. We paid extra for a desirable room in fact £198 for one night, not sure what made the room desirable as it was on a par with a premier inn yet three times more expensive and no breakfast included. Bed sheet was stained which was rectified within 30 minutes. The people in the room next to us ignored the no smoking signs and so we had to endure a hot room without being able to open the window as they were in and out smoking in the balcony. The air con would only go as low as 17. We were woken at 5am by our neighbours playing loud music and vomiting in between cigarettes on the balcony. It felt like we were sharing a room with them the noise was so loud. Ruined our special stay. Expectations need to be managed this is not a £200 a night standard of hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ate here, taster menu with wine. It was nice, everything was good. It is not 5star, however it was nice and recommended. I took the wine extra, bit expensive, but was good. Would like to stay, maybe next time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.