We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic but expensive business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Save Saved
You added Abode Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Chester
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic but expensive business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Abode Chester is going to be part of a memorable trip. The staff were amazing, very polite and helpful. The rooms were fresh, clean and spacious. The bed was a lullaby for my lonely trip. The location was outstanding, just besides Chester Racecourse and a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Chester highstreet. The prices are quiet steep though but since it was a business trip it didnt burn a hole in my wallet. Michael Caines restaurant is very expensive and not a tummy filler. The food though is very classy. Overall an awesome stay. Will surely come back if someone else is paying for me.

Room Tip: Brilliant hotel though it comes with a bigger price. Convenient location. Enter Michael Caines resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    287
    97
    26
    24
See reviews for
58
534
16
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked in for three nights in November 2013 for our wedding anniversary. From the Hotel's brochure the hotel looks huge but in reality the hotel only occupies a small part of the complex which is mostly office space. The room was pleasant and overlooking the racecourse (ask) but unfortunately overlooked the busy road as well so we were unable to see the Winter Wonderland. Despite being a superior double (desirable) room (317) it had a large bed but no fridge and only one chair. If you suffer from high anxiety don't look out the window (floor to ceiling!). The room could have done with just a little more light.The bathroom was fine except for the grapefruit shampoo and soap etc - yuk. My only quibble was there was nowhere nearby to hand to hang a towel when in the shower. There was however a strange, almost like an organic solvent, smell. that started about lunch time and got worse as the day progressed and we had to make sure we shut the bathroom door. We weren't sure if the smell emanated from a dribble of liquid that came from the wall behind the sink. We did report this issue but nothing was done. The room was too warm for us because the a/c was switched off. When we asked they did switch it on. The restaurant was well appointed with lovely views over the city and breakfast although not the best I've tasted was fine and the staff were efficient. The coffee though was very weak but when I asked for a stronger pot it was brought straight away. Dinner in the Michael Caine restaurant was well presented but very minimalistic and a little disappointing considering the price. I felt that the staff coped quite well considering how busy it was and I understand why the staff had little time per table and we felt rushed. Overall we preferred the food at the MC coffee bar and grill downstairs.
There was nowhere to sit and have a quiet read other than the bedroom. The only other area was the bar which was again poorly lit and could be noisy with sometimes loud piped music. My wife used the treatments from the Secret Sanctuary but was not impressed particularly (especially given the high charges) since the hair dresser arrived late without any shampoo and had to use the unsuitable bathroom sink in our room and that horrible grapefruit shampoo. To be fair the company did ring to say she would be late but that was to our home number 100 miles away.

Overall we did enjoy our stay despite the minimilistic theme throughout, the staff were very helpful and friendly although there were issues in over-billing (£78 more than agreed) which was sorted out and refunded quickly after I pointed it out the next day. Perhaps this was a training issue. The Hotel was conveniently situated and we would return but would think twice about dining there since there are a number of other restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the racetrack
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here a few times this year and never been disappointed! The hotel is ideally situated in chester with a great secure car park! We have stayed in all the available rooms from the standard double rooms right up to the suites, this time we stayed in a desirable room, don't get me wrong the rooms are nice, clean and very useful for the purpose they are designed for, they have an excellent powerful shower which is nice for a change! I just feel there is a massive jump in quality and space from the desirable room to the enviable room. Maybe we were spoilt on our last visit with the fabulous suite??? To me the biggest difference is the bed the one in the desirable room is half the size, Me personally I would definitely pay that little extra to upgrade to a enviable room next we visit and there will be a next time! As they say you get what you pay for! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in chester, amazing location amazing staff, a great bar and a absolutely fantastic restaurant on the 5th floor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I would like to recommend the staff, especially a young lady receptionist called Joanne, who sorted out our predicament of a special weekend booked & cancelled without our knowledge by Groupon.
A planned lovely weekend could have been so easily have been disappointment. Abode hotel is situated conveniently close to the center of Chester, only walking distance away from the shops and several good restaurants. The meals in Michael Caines restaurant & Cafe Bar are of very good standard and the breakfast is fab. The rooms are modern and spacious with a luxury bathroom. There was only one thing that slightly spoiled our weekend, and that was lack of sleep! The bed was too soft & springy, however some of you reading this may be in favour of it.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside not court a yard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is my 1st choice of hotel each time I stay in chester for business, 4th time this year. Great staff service, fabulous bed and rooms with good views and great restaurant on the top floor and bar on the ground floor.

If your looking stop looking and get booking - stay here! Now!

They also have the best show gel ever.

Room Tip: Every room i have had has been good, but not all rooms have a bath, so as when you book if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a nice modern new hotel on the edge of the city centre. Standard rooms feel fresh and clean, modern and minimalist. The a/c was somewhat odd to work, and a minor irritant was not being able to have the bedside light on without two other lights also being on.
Breakfast was disappointing. Opting out of black pudding and beans (this is the English north!) I can given one small bacon rasher and a sausage.
I emailed a lost property enquiry: no response after four days.
Good easy parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good location, just on the edge of the city centre. Car parking was fine. Room was fine if a little on the small side. I suspect business users who need to do a bit of work will find the lighting not that good.

We had a dinner reservation elsewhere (Simon Radley at the Grosvenor) so didnt try the restaurant in the evening - although noted that the menu doesnt seem as ambitious as the excellent one at the Manchester Abode. Breakfast was generally OK - buffet for the "continental" items and cooked to order for the "full English" - although the bacon was significantly undercooked, even for my tastes (I hate crispy bacon).

Very reasonable value for money, we thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.