We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Top Class Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Chester to your Saves list
Abode Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Top Class Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went for my birthday on a £99 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal available on their website, so I wasn't expecting anything over the top for my money.

The location is brilliant, in town, easy to find, parking underneath for £10 per day.

The room was a Comfortable Room, no offer of a chargeable upgrade on check in. The bed was divine, super comfy and I am fussy! King size. All very trendy and we had a balcony too with the racecourse off to the right. The only annoying thing was the flashing red lights on the smoke alarm in the night!

We had a two course meal in Michael Caines Cafe and Grill thrown in. My other half enjoyed his. I had pigeon breast which was tough as boots and Risotto which was a bit tasteless. When asked I was honest with the waiter and we got free desserts which were yummy.

Breakfast in the main restaurant - we had a cooked breakfast - was faultless - delicious, tasty and perfectly cooked.

I'd definitely stay again but treat myself to a Caines Restaurant dinner next time. And I'd like to buy one of their beds!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    329
    119
    30
    26
See reviews for
64
613
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The decor was very relaxing and made for a restful experience. I also liked the swipe cards that we used to get into the rooms. You only had to wave them in front of the door rather than have them properly inserted in a slot. We were within walking distancce of several nice restaurants. The clerk at the front desk called ahead for reservations at a local restaurant and as a result we received a 20% discount. Breakfast was also included and was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hotel once we found it lived up to expectations. The staff were realy friendly and the room was fabulous. The windows were the full length of the room, the room was large and very well appointed. We had gone for an anniversary treat and the hotel had put a card and mini box of chocolates in our room wishing us a happy anniversary. The open plan bathroom was a novelty with a hand basin bigger than a babies bath! There was a door on the w.c though!
We had dinner at the Hotel and again the staff were very attentive and the food was a gastronomic delight. Perhaps the lighting in the dining room could be improved, it was difficult to read the menu by candlelight and another guest was complaining rather loudly that he couldn't see the menu properly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the only downside was that Sat Nav didn't recognise either of the postcodes we had been given and so finding the Hotel was difficult and once we found the building we didn't think the entrance was very well signposted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My Wife and I took a mid week break to Chester. How completely thrilled we were on chossing The Abode. High quality in every aspect. From arrriving into the secure car park to sadly checking out. The visit was faultless.
All staff smilng and seemed genuinely please to see you.
The room was magnificent and catered for all our needs. We even had the luxury of a balcony, although we couldn't mangae the sliding door, overlooking the race track.
The Restaurant was just sublime and service was excellent and the food unbeleivabl!!
The hotel is situated in a brilliant location for visiting the City.
Without doubt HIGHLY recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Staff are always friendly and helpful.
The main reason I stay at this hotel is because of the Michael Cain restaurant and that it is located in a good place (away from the noisy night life)
The rooms are nothing fancy similar to premier inn style, unless you pay that bit more and have a higher room grade.
Another enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and it was lovely! Staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived on Saturday, dumped our bags and went for a shop till you drop day in Chester. Our room overlooked the racecourse and it was very quiet and clean, bed was so comfy! Ate in the bar and grill in the hotel in the evening which was lovely and then went to the the champagne bar also in the hotel afterwards. We had a lovely time, as a couple with two young children it was nice to just be on our own for the evening in a lovely hotel and spoil ourselves! I would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was lovely with a comfy bed good complimentary toiletries as well. The only problem was our room was road side and the floor below the bar so very noisey and got no sleep. Wouldn't stay again due to this.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.