We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Chester to your Saves list
Abode Chester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Chester
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for one night on 8th December.

We'd booked a 'Desirable' room but were upgraded at check in to an 'Enviable' room.

We couldn't fault anything. Staff were great, service was great, room was great. I also had one of the best nights sleep I'd had in ages. Bed was sooooo comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    328
    119
    30
    26
See reviews for
64
612
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here this weekend whilst attending a party at Chester races which is next door,superb modern hotel with good size contemporary room. Delightful bar on the ground floor with two cocktails for £9. On the doorstep of the city centre we will be returning again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Cannot fault this hotel...fabulous rooms.. great ambience and service..ideally located for the race course and Chester centre. Excellent food but could do with a better vegetarian menu.
Breakfast superb hot and good choice! Book on a website deal and you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Returning for a meal with my wife after a few months, the food didn't disappoint us. Excellent presentation, flavours and service. Venture past the Grosvenor to Michael Caines on the 5th floor, great views over the Dee. Ask the sommelier for suggestions, our dessert wine was amazing. Must be working towards a Michelin star in 2013 and if they keep this standard up should easily make it happen.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Was about to book this hotel via lastminute.com when I read on Tripadvisor that you can sometimes get a better deal via the hotels website. Managed a room bed and breakfast and a£10 each towards a meal in the cafe bar all for £99! Location is excellent and only costs £10 to park the car overnight and all of the next day.
Receptionist and all the staff very helpful. The room was a bit basic but the bathroom and toiletries were lovely. Food was fine but not outstanding. Breakfast lovely, nice to see fresh grapefruit segments rather then tinned. My husband had the full Engllish which he declared delicious and I had the porridge with honey and banana which was good but not much of it. All in all an excellent stay for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A very modern hotel in a great location next to race course and city center shops. Stayed over a weekend which meant free secure parking under the building, mid week this may change as it is shared with other companies. A nice clean room with a soft bed. We did not eat in the restaurant but did have some nice cocktails in the bar. Overall a very nice, clean and modern hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was quite dubious in booking a room after reading some of the reviews........but after a while decided to book it because I just like the look of the hotel. I was really glad that I booked this hotel for my wife's birthday. The room was fantastic, huge lovely bed, clean, big bathroom......what more can I ask for? The staff were very knowledgeable and nothing was too much to ask for. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but what I see looked lovely, but we did try some cocktails which were brilliant. To finish off the stay ended with one of the best breakfasts I've had. After our stay I couldn't understand the bad reviews but I guess it's down to personal taste, but my personal taste will be to stay in the hotel again.....maybe i'll book one of the suites. My last words would be 'book this hotel'

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.