We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great refurbishment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O' Bells

Ring O' Bells
Village Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 7AS, England
+44 1244 335422
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ring O' Bells is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $19 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The award winning Ring O' Bells is now bigger and better! The Ring O' Bells is located in the heart of the picturesque Cheshire village Christleton. Recently extended and fully refurbished to the highest standard the unique plush interior creates a fabulous ambience and compliments the pubs picturesque surroundings.The addition of The Glasshouse - a contemporary new extension, gives an exciting new dimension to the pub, creating a spectacular dining environment, perfect for hosting any special event. In the warmer months its fully retractable doors create the ideal inside/outside space.The restaurant has also been given a fresh new look creating a vibrant place to dine. For main meals, we offer many wonderful seasonal dishes Honey & Cider Glazed Chicken Skewers, mustard dip,Chargrilled Tuna, Tandoori King Prawn salad alongside established favourites like hand-stretched stone-baked pizzas and fabulous Sunday roasts. The Village Bar is sure to wow with delicious home-made bar snacks to accompany your chosen tipple, plus it's open for tea, coffee and home-made cakes every weekday morning from 9.00Am. The village and its surroundings have inspired the Ring O' Bells new interior design, with a nod to the duck pond, local walks and other areas of interest. Alfresco drinking & dining is also well catered for - when weather permits. We have a decked sun terrace and a family lawn, complete with picnic tables and children's play area.You'll be assured of a warm welcome together with great food, drink and service at the all new look Ring O' Bells.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great refurbishment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is our local and it had been closed for a couple of weeks for a re-furb - we went last night to have a look.
It's lovely inside, great decoration and the new glass house very bright and airy. Will be fab in the summer.
Food was very good. Three good size, delicious starters followed by three different pizzas, and we managed to eat all of our pizza which we almost never manage to do
Good to see a local real ale on as well.
Great job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingOBellsCH3, Owner at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi & thanks for your review. We are really pleased with the refurbishment & our extension, The Glasshouse. It enables us to do so much more! Thanks for your kin words & support, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    63
    27
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very good food, service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a gastropub rather than a traditional local. We had a light lunch on Sunday, the quality was very good and reasonably priced. Within our group were two young children and the pub was accommodating. A couple of locally sourced real ales were available - both were well kept and served.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RingOBellsCH3, Owner at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time & effort to write a review. We really appreciate & are so pleased you had a good time. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More than pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

From entering the bar the service was excellent. Attention to detail was high . Just watch how they set the place settings. Then the food!! None of the usual microwave rubbish but real home cooked with high quality ingredients. Well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanWade, Owner at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We really appreciate that you noticed how much we care about all elements in the Ring O' Bells experience from setting the tables to serving the customers & everything in between. The food is all cooked fresh from locally sourced produce & made with care. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Reasonable pub food-good service on the whole”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food was average. I had the salmon salad which was tasty but overpriced fir what it was. I was a little disappointed that the staff failed to warn us of the size of the garlic bread. We were a party of 8 and order 2 plain garlic and 2 with mozzarella. When they arrived they were huge and obviously far to much. Needless to say a lot if this was wasted ! Children's meals were fine and good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanWade, Owner at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review & we appreciate your feedback. Although, I must admit it's the first time we have had a complaint about giving too much food! Seriously, though I also hate food waste, but it does say on the menu pizza garlic bread & they are pizza sized garlic bread.
We would love you to visit us again & hopefully on your next visit we can hit the 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family have recently moved back to the area and we thought we would walk down to the village pub...
The Ring O' Bells in Christleton has a very friendly atmosphere with tasty reasonably priced food (two pizza's for the price of one on a wednesday). We were surprised by how busy the pub was for a wednesday night - this is obviously a popular place to go! Even with the number of people there we were served quickly and didn't feel crowded.
Would really recommend trying this out - we will definitely be going again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanWade, Front Office Manager at Ring O' Bells, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Firstly welcome to the village! Thanks for visting & taking the time to write a review. Yes, our Pizza Wednesdays are very popular & there is always a buzz in the place. Thursday's Curry Club are very popular as well, maybe try that next time. We are proud to announce the launch of great new space The Glasshouse as well as full pub & restaurant refurbishment in October / November. The Village Bar will be the place to go & we will have a great atmosphere for locals & visitors alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O' Bells also viewed

Christleton Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Ring O' Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O' Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.