We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Sunday lunches in Chester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin
140 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HT, England
01244 344295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 376 restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday lunches in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Been here a few times now well three weeks on a run and the standard of the Sunday lunch is amazing very very good food,staff,location. I would recommend this place to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    259
    81
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Tried this place for the first time last night and will definitely return! It was our wedding anniversary and we wanted to eat somewhere special. Good job we'd booked, as the place was really busy, surprising for a Thursday night in town. The menu is innovative but limited and changes daily, I think. I started with sweetcorn and ginger soup which was absolutely delicious! For mains I went for the veggie antipasti platter while my husband tucked into roast duck with cherries. I was full by this point, but John went for a crème brulee dessert while I enjoyed a double espresso. The whole meal was a delight, and the service flawless and friendly. It's not the cheapest place in town, but well worth paying slightly more for something different and very delicious. Décor is simple and they've cleverly managed to get several tables into a smallish space while keeping a decent distance between them. My only teensy gripe is that they didn't proffer the change (I know it was only £1.70!) when we paid - I always find it slightly annoying when restaurants do this! That apart, it was one of the best dining experiences I've had in Chester...and there's stiff competition out there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rustic style food with fine dining portions and presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Heard a lot of good things about this place and I was not disappointed. Ate pigeon breast starter, hake served with risotto and fruit cake and Stilton. Portions all on the small side but the whole meal was adequate and fantastically tasty. We both had three courses and a few drinks and the bill was about £70.
Service attentive without being formal. Decor is rustic style.
I thought that was very good value for food that good. Will definitely be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I visited here 6th June for the first time and have to say it's one of the best restaurants in Chester. We ordered the queen olives, followed by pork belly/hake and sorbet to finish. All delicious! We were even running a little late but the staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival. Definitely worth paying a little more and having a freshly cooked meal in a lovely, relaxing environment. Will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real Chester gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A great little restaurant with excellent food, friendly service and reasonable prices. Not on my usual route around Chester, I came across this restaurant on TripAdvisor when looking for somewhere different to go with friends for my birthday. An excellent choice.

I really like a small menu, fairly limited choice but that suggests to me good quality produce cooked freshly.

Also, I came away with coffee beans and beautiful olives sold there. Will definitely return, maybe for Sunday lunch with the family

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Benjamin also viewed

 

Been to Joseph Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Benjamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.