We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
126 Foregate Street, Chester CH1 1HB, England
01244 310033‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 411 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Ordered a delivery, came late and freezing cold. Tasted awful too. Very overpriced for what we got. Hair in some of the food. Managed to get some of our money back even though it took some persuasion even though we were clearly displeased with our meal. Would never recommend to anyone and never eating there again. I'd advise you to do the same.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were looking forward to a lovely meal here but unfortunately didnt get it. The soup wasnt very nice, the spare ribs chewy and the main meals very poor with very little sauce. The rice came about 5 minutes before the meals so was cold and the other meals came in dribs and drabs. The service wasnt great as we ordered drinks which never came.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“People this is officially the best Chinese in Chester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ok this is 100% honest and I'm a vary harsh critic so no wishy washy comments will follow I promise.
We usually get our take out from Jade and have done so for 3 years, however having called tonight they are no longer trading, so I visited TripAdvisor for some help and Summer Palace had consistently good reviews, enough for me to give it a whirl.
Having place our order 20 mins later we collected our food and our verdict is........OUR NEW FAVOURITE TAKEAWAY!
So the prices are reasonable and the portion size is more than enough, but the main thing is the flavour. It is some of the tastiest Chinese I have ever eaten, as good as any high class Chinese restaurant.
I'm very picky about hygiene so checked the Scores on the Doors website and this place came in at 3 which is a lot less than I expected, however when my other half went to collect the food, he commented it appeared to be very clean and the staff were extremely friendly.
Both my boyf and I both rate this 9/10 on flavour and price. The only lose 1 point for not being a 5 in hygiene.
You will not be disappointed with this place. It's amazing, order now!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a let down...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As you enter the reception this made you think this place looks promising for what was ahead, but after, not an ounce of Chinese aura at all, plain beige walls, melamine bar, yellow and black hazard tape in the distance. Chipped plates, no draught beer, £2.95 for a 300ml smallest bottle of cider. Very dated. Gordon Ramsay would have had a field day. Served by an Italian girl and an English lady. FOOD PRICES ON THE WEBSITE ARE LONG OUT OF DATE!!!
Banquet A2 was actually £20 per head not £13. Sweet and Sour Chicken was dreadful, KFC popcorn would have been more fresher and succulent than the dried out chicken thigh pieces offering, also served in a dried out birds nest, a novelty needing to be binned. Overall i got the impression the place is struggling. Come on owners spend £5k and spruce up the place you could be the best if you bothered to put a smile on your face! And stop being mean with the fresh ingredients. £52.00 down the drain. And as others have said much to much salt. Offer a knife and fork, and stop hovering over the diners eating whilst standing at the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited here last night had a fantastic meal. Starter was a platter really tasty. Mains we had singapore rice noodles & chicken with cashew nuts. A delicious meal, excellent service, will return & would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.